How I Prepare the Tomato Stew the Southern-Nigerian Way.

Dear diary, the last time I tried to cook the tomato stew on my own was when I was 14 years old. 9 years later and I finally documented the proper way to prepare it after my roommate at school did it today. It's the 21 of April 2019. Easter Sunday. I am in final year in college and I didn't travel to spend the holiday with my parents and siblings in Portharcourt.

I had all the time in the world on this day and i decided i was going to follow every step of the process closely. However, i did not have the time to take snapshots of the process. Besides, i think i ignored the need to because my Infinix Hot 5 camera is pretty poor. Ladies, Gentlemen, i present the Nigerian stew.

Ingredients.


  • Tomatoes. Depending on the quantity of stew you want. Fresh + Canned tomatoes.
  • Onions. just the right amount of them. Sliced onions and grated onions.
  • Garlic. diced garlics. You can also grate some with the Onions.
  • Meat. Could be beef or Chicken. Steamed and ready.
  • Fresh scented bell peppers. Bell peppers are adorable for stuff like this.
  • Seasoning cubes. Knorr
  • Curry leaves and powder. Thyme and Nutmeg powders.
  • Vegetable oil.

Cooking Steps.


  • First, heat the tomatoes (canned + fresh) in a saucer. Make sure the liquid in the fresh tomatoes isn't too much. The preheating will make sure the tomotoes is well cooked.
  • Then, turn the vegetable oil into another cooking pot and preheat it.
  • Turn in the cooked tomatoes into the pot and stir for a while. Then cover it and allowed it to simmer.
  • Add the onions and garlics. Heat it for a while and then add a bit of water.
  • Add the meat + meatstock, add the salt and seasoning cubes, add the curry and the thyme if used.
  • Add anything else you might have.
  • The curry leaf or any kind of leaf should come last. and the pot shouldn't stay on the fire for more than 2 minutes after that. This is to ensure that it stays fresh and nutritious.
  • You’ll notice at this stage that the oil has risen to the top of the stew. Food is ready.

Groot*

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center