The sound of music transcends time

Music breaks down boundaries, unites and uplifts. I don't know why but it just does. A particular song can spark a memory, take a person back to a pleasant event or time in their life. It does with me anyway.

Last night over dinner my wife told me how proud she was of me taking on a new role shortly and the way I'm maintaining my integrity by working hard at my current role to ensure the transition between me and my replacement is smooth for the company.

This morning whilst driving to work I was thinking about her words and this song came on the radio. It's a special song for us; Probably more for me I guess. We were at a wedding and my wife had somehow convinced me that it would be good for me to have a dance. (I actually don't get dancing so rarely do it).

So there we were on the dance floor, me feeling awkward, and this song came on and for some reason it just felt like we were the only people there. She looked so beautiful and well, it was pretty special for me. Since then every time I hear this song I think of her, not just that night, but everything about her and it often ends up with me calling or sending a text to tell her that I love her or miss her. (Even if it was only 30minutes ago since I saw her last).

This morning was no exception. Thirty years after first meeting we are still each other's best friend. Hearing this song, right at that moment just felt so warming to my heart. We spoke for about 30 seconds then went on with our days.

It's so very important to tell the people in your life how you feel about them. Whether it's the person you love, your partner, child, parent, friend, or even work-colleague...Find the time to tell them you appreciate them you love them or value their friendship or efforts; Whatever is appropriate for the person you are talking to at the time. Do it. It feels good.

You know what? Go tell someone now...Trust me you won't regret it. :)

Take a listen below.

Ed Sheeran courtesy of YouTube

Thanks for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center