AN ANGRY COOK...!

"Can I hear word, and y’all stop trying to justify your laziness…?"
image.jpeg

So this happened;
My landlord had this party, a big one. The type you need the expertise and abilities of ‘alase’ (in case you're wondering, I’m sure you know how different ‘wedding jollof rice’ and ‘burial amala’ taste compared to the regular ones).

Ok so here's a mental picture of the expected people.

  • Old women with their rods (for stirring) and big iron pots (like that for ‘African’ sacrifices portrayed in some Hollywood movies and animations) …
    image.jpeg
    https://goo.gl/images/HsaKxY

We thought wrong...

To my greatest surprise the set of people who came were all guys and I mean young male adults (say 20-35 years). Just when I was thinking they helped with the heavy stuffs, two of them had made their fire (2 separate ‘koko-irins’), and I heard statements like “no fan my fire" (no pun intended), leave am…I sabi wetin I dey do”.

Fast forward, the following morning the atmosphere was ‘lit’, apparently they cooked through the night.
...

Now you ask what I am up too… well enough of the arguments about ladies being in the kitchen, those for and against (The real intent of feminism is even more complicated than ever with all these arguments). Anyways, guys have taken over the 'Alase’ industry; shay you’re happy now eh!!??!!
Brrrr….

Cooking has become some kind of art for me, each little thing I learn, I go further to try out ‘concoctions’.
P.S. I must say, I learnt from the best; my mum(s); my sister(s), by blood and by zone; my friends, by default and by zone)
We call it MAGIC (ask Ozone, CEO 36NG). yes, it can be stressful, and yes, it’ll be so much fun to lay down and anticipate that clarion call of “Food is Ready” …but the thing about my MAGIC is IT IS MY MAGIC!!! Whether it’s a total failure (black magic and the likes) or a gracious one, it’s still my magic.

... ... ...

If something someone does or says doesn’t work for you, freaking do yours, your own freaking way, quit rubbing it in people’s faces.

Now if you think this is one-sided, read it again!!!

Yours,
An angry cook…
fThunder

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center