Let's Talk—If Life Gave You A Second Chance, How Would You Live More Meaningfully?

Few nights ago I needed a drop somewhere in my city and my friend @speedracer was taking me there. As we were driving to the location we discussed about our recent struggles. We had both survived major road accidents. But looking back we've both managed to come back quite strongly from these incidents in our lives.


Source

I had once imagined a hypothetical situation where I would go through the worst possible and if such a situation presented itself what is it that I might do thereafter. It came true but I'd like to think the worst is behind me now, and so I felt like this topic is worthy of a discussion in the open.

Sometimes life gives you a second chance, or even two! Not always, but sometimes. It's what you do with those second chances that counts. —Dave Wilson

So, Let's Talk!

@speedracer and I felt grateful that we're alive, even as we have rods and screws, which are sometimes painful to live with. I suffered a minor disability (temporary I hope) in my right hand from the crash even as I wait for nerve graft to heal and work; We've adapted to our situations quite well and sometimes that's all one can do.

Couple of days ago I wrote about my 1 year on Steemit and I felt so glad to be able to share some of my achievements from the past year. To be honest with you, when I was hit by a errant motorist and lying near a ditch on the side of a road snaking through a forest, several hours away from medical assistance, the thought I might not make it this far crossed my mind several times!

I told myself I have to make it through this and somehow I remained calm throughout with until I received medical care about 8 hrs later.

Life is full of challenges but it is also full of opportunities. I had a lot of time to think through Feb-May about the way forward and I decided to do the best with whatever I've got. When I was finally able to sit longer hours and use both my arms I began working harder than ever before.

The importance of realizing the truth that life could be over in a second teaches you a lot about managing your time wisely. I've started doing things a bit differently ever since.

  1. I have been engaged in some charitable causes and I have continued doing more on that front. The idea is quite simple: To make a small difference in the world before I kick the bucket.
  2. On Steemit I've helped with onboarding of new users through different channels as well as retaining existing users on everyday basis through different means.
  3. I'm from India and I find Steemit to offer everyone an incredible opportunity. In my opinion, there's massive potential for growth on Steemit from India and I'd like to see Steem in the news through the early stages. So, I've decided to work towards spreading the word about this platform which holds immense potential to empower users globally and I've had some success in doing so. It's an ongoing effort.
  4. When I was at the hospital, 5 of my friends including @varunpinto @wandererowheels @srinidhi donated blood. Recently, I've signed up as a stem cell donor with Datri.org in my country and also hope to donate blood in the near future.
  5. I ensure I spend time with my family and close friends on a regular basis and try as much as possible to spend time away from the computer on the weekends. It's important to do this because when you're close to kicking your bucket you are going to miss being around people who care for you not how much money you made or hours you spent in front of a lifeless screen!
  6. I dont waste any time watching TV, instead I prefer to read anything that expands the way I think about things and way I go about my life or do something that improves my existing skills or add new ones.
  7. I've stopped hanging out with negative people or anyone who focuses on problems than finding solutions. Surrounding yourself with positive people can make a world of a difference. I've realized the importance of pushing out the bad elements from my life and the results have been astounding.
  8. I try not to dwell in the past and instead focus on building a better future every day. Today, I'm more certain than ever before that everyday I'm making a small difference and helping others through my work. That's a big factor for my high self-motivation!
  9. Pushing myself through recovery by staying positive has helped me a lot and I hope in a year from now I will be able to write down the moment when I got back use of my fingers on my right hand.
  10. I work continuously on my improving my finances and ensure my financial planning is on track!
  11. I don't think I was lucky at all. I had people who stood by me. Right from the moment I met with an accident to present times! I hope to be able to do the same for my friends in similar capacity.
  12. I stopped believing anything is impossible. You shouldn't waste a second chance when life hands it over to you!

Couple of the things I wish I did better are:

  1. Sleep early and sleep well enough. I dont do either of them and that's something I'm working on.
  2. Eat healthy and exercise. Both are a bit off track as my physical activity is restricted currently as I'm still not 100% yet.

The fact is that we may like to call these life changing events such as second chances but it's more about being in the moment and seizing it with all we've got more than anything else. But, no matter how devasting life is at some point in your life, remember it will get better from there.

Well, this is how I look at life right now. I was able to come back and achieve so many things through trial and error by believing in myself. If you are going through a tough time, remember that it will pass. Just belive in yourself and you'll accomplish anything!

I'd like to read your opinion on this. Have you been through difficult situations and what did you differently when you came out of it?


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Successful #2 India Steemit Accelerator and Steem Cryptocurrency Meetup 2017 at Robert Bosch India HQ!
  2. My 1st Steemit Anniversary — Looking Back at an Amazing Year Of My Life!
  3. Dummies Guide to Basic Steemit Account Security + Account Recovery Guide! Must Read For Steemit Users!

Follow Me: @firepower

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center