Vlog 290: Active users on the blockchain much higher than I thought + A couple of reasons apps will benefit from an SMT.


I always use the stats from @penguinpablo to stay up to date about the amount of active users on the blockchain.

He recently changed it to "Daily accounts transacting" after a comment by @jerrybanfield here.

I never thought about it before but it makes perfect sense that there is a huge difference between accounts making transactions on the blockchain (up-voting/commenting/posting) and users that come across all the different frontends the steem blockchain has to offer (dtube, dlive, dsound, busy.org for instance) and don't interact at all but read/watch content.

I do this all the time on youtube for instance.

I watch content but I don't interact. Yet I am a active user and (most likely) very valuable to youtube.

I just don't know yet how we could calculate 'active users' and if it's even possible.

It's a very interesting question. But it's surely much higher than "Daily accounts transacting".

A couple of reasons apps will benefit from an SMT.


There was a question (by @gikitiki) I got after my vlog from yesterday where I believe steepshot could benefit from an SMT.

The question he asked was why apps would use an SMT and not just use STEEM? here.

Two reasons I gave were:

  1. Different people trending because SP has no influence. (the SMT will).
  2. No need to buy/get delegated a huge stake for the app developer to have influence on their own app.

There are more reasons I think off.

I talk about it more in my vlog.



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center