Party on a boat with family members I have never seen. It was fun!

I just got home from a nice weekend up North with my dad.

Today we had a family get together with his side of the family.

It's a side I don't see often or have not seen at all in some cases.

Mostly my dad's aunts, uncles and cousins.

The party was on a boat they rented.

It was a lot of fun.


Snapseed 2.jpg


When I think about it I don't see my own cousins that often.

So meeting my dad's version of those is pretty rare I guess (or maybe it's a Dutch thing) but meeting their children even more rare! (I had never seen them before).


Snapseed 3.jpg


Luckily I have improved my social skills over the years.

I can strike a conversation much more easily than when I was younger.

I ended up mostly talked with the children of my dad's cousins.

(I could not calculate what that made me in the family...maybe a second cousin?)

They were close to my age (28) and grew up in a village up north.

It was fun hearing their stories growing up in a small village.

The nice thing about the people up North is that they are in general more open and friendlier towards people they don't know.

Everything I go there I just feel calmer.

Like they are less stressed about things in general.

It's nice.

The boat ride was nice too.


Snapseed.jpg


In total the boat ride lasted 5 hours!

Which was pretty long in my opinion :)

But I did learn about a whole side of the family I didn't know excited.

Which was cool.

And who knows when I will see them again!



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:



We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center