Helping one of my oldest clients and being bitten by the scope monster.

A couple of days ago I got a call.

I couldn't pick up (was watching Sam) so it went to voicemail.

On my voicemail, I'm informing my clients that I'm going to call it quits.

When I later checked who called I saw a familiar name.

One of my oldest clients.

Mr. and Ms. Web.

I rang them back and they were in a slight panic....

You are not going to quit on us, are you!


IMG_2319.jpg


Now, when I say oldest clients I mean it.

I think they are client number #7.

Back then (2008) I didn't own a car.

They lived in the next town so it was a good 30 minutes by bike with all my gear.

Because I opted to be professional I hid my bike in another street and walked to the door.

Very Genius!...Much professional!...

Except for all the sweat dripping off my face...

I quickly came clean and they couldn't care less about the bike.

I helped them perfectly with their problem that day and they were happy.

That's what they did care about.

And they been my clients ever since.

They were fairly old then but they are even older now.

Computers and Smartphones are tough enough as it is and they don't want to rely on anyone else.

I have told them they can always call me and I asked about the problem.

They got a 'new iPhone' (read: Iphone5) and the Vodafone store couldn't help them change everything from the previous iPhone without throwing everything away.

There was panic.

An easy enough job. So I went there today.

It's very easy the change iPhones so it took about 20 minutes to do it.

I was already packing my bag.

But then.....he showed up...

"Can you also look at our computer it's giving an error."

A question like this is known as 'the scope monster' in my field.

I got the term from @s3rg3.

All my alarm bells should have started ringing straight away!

But the scope monster pops it's head up when you least expect it.

And before you know it, you hear yourself say 'yes, no problem'.

Soon, I found myself wadding knee deep in windows 10 errors.

The exact sort of thing I don't enjoy anymore.

Two hours later I did solve it and but I was destroyed :)

They were very happy though, so that's good.

For me, it was a good reminder that this isn't the life I want anymore.

Still, I will go there when they call, they deserve it but it will be by my own free will and not because I need it.

A that's a huge difference.



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now