The Preppers Dilemma

I just ordered a 37 gallon (yes, we still use what we call the "English" or "imperial" system here, so no metric), water bladder, cos yes, I'm a prepper.

More like a junior prepper to be exact. I'm not at the bunker-building, multiple-bug-out-bags-and-food-caches-stashed-out-in-the-woods level (yet). That'll come later. ;)

I got that from my dearly departed grandmother who taught us how to store food in mason jars and pack them in the basement. Giant jugs of water, candles, food and first aid kits, competed for space with my ever-growing HO train set in the basement.

The bladder is the latest addition in hopefully being ready when the Aliens finally do land after they take out the electrical grid first, that is. Or the latest 'Dear Leader' decides to incinerate Alaska, Guam, Hawaii and the US west coast, causing a panic for those of us "back east."

I also have a ham radio, several large (and fully charged) portable battery units, and other assorted errata for when that big 'Just in Case' moment finally arrives.

What Happens To Crypto When The Lights Go Out?

But that made me wonder; what will our community on the blockchain do when the lights go out?

Who and what's going to power all of this decentralized stuff?

I suppose that's when all of the Silver Stackers will come to the fore, and a true barter economy will blossom amongst the bunkers. We won't be able to trade crypto, so a Morgan silver dollar may be your next best bet.

Have any of you given this somewhat remote possibility some thought?

I picked up a backup hardware wallet so at least I'll have some of my crypto assets stored offline, for when we (hopefully), come back from whatever future calamity awaits us.

I really believe it's best to be prepared materially, mentally, physically and spiritually for the "reset" to come.

The laughter of the people in Home Depot and Walmart in December 2019 and January 2020, rang in my ears as I prepared for what was "over there" to make its way "over here."

They weren't laughing for long, and so it will be for the next time. What are your thoughts on prepping for the future? Are you a fatalist chanting "whatever happens, happens" or are you working to be as ready as you'll ever be?

If you found that this post added value or inspired you, please share a comment, upvote, or reblog :)

Please check out my recent posts:


Image Credit: 1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now