Everyone is entitled to their personal opinion, respect that

stones-1372677_960_720.jpg

When I first started writing this post, I channeled all the emotion I was feeling into this post with the mindset of making people understand why it is important to understand people's opinion of things and how to strike a balance.
Each voice counts and should be respected. Because an individual likes the color white, the person should not automatically expect everyone to like white too.

I was talking about differences in personality matrices of some people a few days ago and I realized that I needed to go further and do more justice to that topic. A person who is inclined to a default setting or belief will naturally believe that that belief is right regardless of what others think and that often marks the beginning of trouble. When you naturally want to be a part of something, you have to be ready to incorporate aspects of that thing. In essence, respecting what makes that thing special.

When your voice is heard or when you make your voice heard, do you take time to listen to the voice of others? Is it your wishes or opinions that supersede or do others really have a say in what goes on?
I also once differentiated between equality and equity. Life requires more of an equity kind of approach to things. If everyone had a say in the affairs of things then life will be more fair. Even the steemit ecosystem employs the Delegated proof of stake where everyone has a say in what goes on in the ecosystem because for it to work, everyone has to have a voice.

wellness-2758146_960_720.jpg
In relationships, do we remember that your partner should have a voice? It should not be all about personal wants all the time. One person cannot have autonomy of decisions all the time and that means the opinion of everyone counts.
Let me use myself as a personal example, I am the kind of person who is willing to inconvenience my selfish needs in a relationship to accommodate others. However when I discover the other person is beginning to take it for granted, I usually react by going into a shell because I believe in people respecting my opinions too as long as they expect me to respect theirs too.

Opinions are so powerful that if not managed well, they could cause serious breakdown of understanding which leads to conflict. A person's opinion is an extension of his pride, treasure that and watch the miracle of peace grow.
People need to understand that variance in opinion could trigger a world war. Imagine two countries refusing to reach a logical conclusion on an issue resulting from a conflict of opinion, if unchecked, such could lead to war.

That goes to prove the power of opinions, and as sentient beings, we should understand that each other's opinion and respect that. The truth is that when your opinion is constantly suppressed both willingly or unwillingly to please people, or because someone else feels the need to dominate over your opinions, then that is really toxic.



You can follow me on twitter by clicking the icon



Thanks @elyaque for the badge
Support @curie, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, @xeldal, @steemgigs for witness

You can help me boost my curation activities by following my curation trail on steemauto.com ( @ehiboss)

Images from pixabay


lion badge.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now