Stress - My Coping Skills & How I Wish To Improve Them

All my unhealthy coping mechanisms are just varying forms of distraction. When upset instead of dealing with the problem I’ll turn on Netflix or play on my phone. I used to smoke, but no longer do. I drink on the very rare occasion but it’s more for socialization rather than stress relief. All that remains now is the repression of upsetting thoughts through technology and media. While not as detrimental to my health as substance abuse, it certainly would be better to truly deal with my problems. For my stress will always resurface through my current process

In my research, I found a wide variety of techniques and methods, after wading through the pool of knowledge that is the internet, I was able to narrow my search down to three primary methods that I felt were most relevant to my life. The first of these was to write about your problems, coincidentally I already write for fun, though not about my problems. It had never occurred to me to employ my fondness of writing in that fashion. Though, regardless of the topic, I find that writing releases stress nonetheless. The second method I found was to let you're feeling out when necessary. This is something I rarely, if ever, partake in. Not for lack of volition, but rather for lack of opportunity, I have no one that I feel I can trust with some of my more personal grievances. I do not plan to change this anytime soon, I find myself less reliant on social connections than most of my peers. The final method I found is one that I do on occasion but not as often as I should, exercise. I walk to and from school every day, so that’s roughly two miles a day, four days a week. Beyond that, however, I live a sedimentary life and perhaps changing that would be beneficial to my overall well being.

This week, I utilized two of the above methods. I wrote more than usual and tried to focus on my emotions rather than some sophomoric premise that would lead to nothing. I found that it was a nice temporary relief, it allowed me to express my worries concisely and in a way that could be easily reflected upon and potentially solved. I also attempted to exercise slightly more than usual. There is actual scientific backing behind the psychological benefits of exercise. It releases endorphins and can have a nearly intoxicating effect. I failed to feel this effect to any noticeable degree, though I did find it a nice distraction from my problems. Sadly, distractions are exactly what I’m trying to avoid. I suppose a distraction through exercise is better than a distraction through television.

Let me know what works for you!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center