I Wish I Could Do More


Two and a half weeks ago I found a new litter of kittens in my garden. I was watering my plants when I heard them crying. I looked around and the only possible place was behind this pump (for the fish pond).


I leaned over the pump and peered inside and a beautiful pair of yellow eyes stared back at me! Woah!


That spot was safe from weather but not from my dad when he waters the plants around there. I kept checking on them to make sure they were okay but one day they were gone. I wondered and worried about them.

Six days ago as I was watering the plant I saw mummy cat at the front porch. She stopped and hissed at me, and jumped into the bush of peace lily. OMG! That is a terrible place for her and her kittens! There is no shelter from the rain and my dad waters these plants every day.




I told her it wasn’t safe there and that she has to find another place (yeah, I actually talked to her). I rustled the leaves to frighten her and it worked. The next morning they were gone. Yay! But where to?

There was a downpour that morning and I saw mummy cat at the front porch, licking herself dry.


When the rain turned into a drizzle I saw mummy carrying a baby in ger mouth, running towards the hut. I ran to the door and saw her jump into a box in the hut. I was hoping they’d use that box and they did! I took a peek when mummy wasn’t there. So cute!



Two days ago while I was cooking dinner I heard a “thud” coming from the hut. I ran to the door and saw another adult cat. It stopped and glared at me, and ran off! I didn’t think much of it and went back to cooking.

But for the past two days mummy has been hanging around near the hut and calling. It felt odd because she’s usually feeding her babies and is very quiet. But now she’s not with them and is calling, like she was calling for her babies.


I felt something was wrong so today I looked into the box, and it was empty. And there was smearing on the flap of the box that looked like dry blood. Please tell me that’s not blood 😭


I know it’s not my fault. I know they’re not my responsibility. I don’t even know what actually happened to them. But I wish there was something I could have done to protect them.

20180516_002249_0001.png



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://crazymum.vornix.blog/2018/09/10/i-wish-i-could-do-more/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now