There is a life after a divorce, Part 1: How I came to live in two houses, one in Rotterdam and one in Burgundy France and how I became happy again.

My last posts where all about my life in the Morvan, in Burgundy France. But it has not always been that way.

IMG_6554.JPG
Our house in the Morvan

I have a house in Rotterdam and I have lived there alone for quite some time after my divorce. Now I live in two houses and that's quite a story.

When you have two houses (a luxury problem of course), you can move from time to time. So last week we moved and left our little village in the Morvan (Burgundy-France) for Rotterdam in the Netherlands.

Today I will explain how it's possible that I live in two houses.

Almost 15 years ago my former husband and I divorced. It's always a sad occasion, a divorce, but sometimes there is no other solution. I was unhappy for a long time, it felt like a defeat, not being able to save our marriage. For 10 years I stayed alone, I had my work as a principal at a big high school and of course my children whom I love a lot, and also some good friends who helped me when I felt alone.

I was a church member of a church in Rotterdam and 'once upon a time' there came a new member, a man from Frisia in the north of the Netherlands. He fell in love with me, without knowing anything about me. I could be married or lesbian or whatever, he knew nothing.

Because he went on a holiday to Thailand and I to Israel, we only had our coffee in April and in July we were living together. I will tell you in another post more about this special man and how I became his wife.

What I will share with you today is that this man had a house in France. As a Dutchman, he came to the Netherlands on a regular basis and stayed with his daughter and her family. He even had his own quarters in her house.

I lived in Rotterdam in a cozy apartment with a balcony, in the center of the city, he had an old farmhouse in Burgundy with quite a lot of land. So together we had two houses.

As long as I had my job as a principal, we stayed mostly in Rotterdam. He is a lot older than I am, so I decided to have an early retirement.

IMG_2433.JPG
My last business day after 15 years as a principal with 15 agendas in my arms.

Now we can live in France more than before and we both enjoy living in France. During the winter we are usually in Rotterdam. Our children (together we have 5) and grandchildren live here and we enjoy the cultural life in Rotterdam in winter.

To my surprise, my former husband met my current husband not so long ago and they go along very well together.

Shortly after my divorce, I thought I would never be happy again, but there is life after a divorce and I'm very happy again.

IMG_2182.JPG

To be continued.......

Have a nice and happy day.
Clio

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center