Exercising self control

This has always been controversial to me. Some times, i wonder if it is really possible to practice self-control. According to Wikipedia, self control represents the ability to regulate one's emotion, behaviour, thoughts in the face of temptations and impulses. "In the face of temptations? And impulses?"
2018-03-07 10.23.51.png

Realistically, it takes a lot of effort to exercise self-control so I respect and adore people with this virtue. It baffles me how resilient and hardy a person can be in the face of some unwanted situation. I'm always on the lookout for what's going to happen next.
2018-03-07 10.24.48.png

Sometimes, I think people just flaunt this attribute. Although it is a very attractive trait, but being so resolute somewhat opposes change. A resolute (self controlled) man will surely refute any other belief contradicting his values or opinions. Because of this, he remains enclosed in a particular pattern of belief.

Do people just make decisions and stick to it till the end? I think that's just the ideal or imagined. Life, i know is full of suprises, of unexpected turns. What if one of this unexpected turns opposes your values, would you remain immovable, unshakeable?
2018-03-07 10.26.32.png

I grew up in the western region of Nigeria. Over there, there's this easy going lifestyle. There's this popular saying amongst the YORUBAS to be precise;" SURULÈRÉ". After translation, this means "life should be taken easily".
2018-03-07 10.36.21.png

My point isn't to oppose this virtuous attribute, rather it is to re-modify its pattern. I think self-control should be exercised with some flexibility.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center