Cape Town Water Crisis! We have 81 days of water left :O

Cape Town is experiencing a massive water crisis at the moment and the City of Cape Town has implemented a number of water saving policies but is it a little too late for that?

The warning signs were evident from around 2015 ,or maybe longer, that the Western Cape of South Africa would experience a drought as the Winters became drier and the rainfall level dropped drastically.

This a very real symptom of Climate Change.

JAN WATER.jpg

JUNE WATER.jpg

Over time the City of Cape Town began to roll out a number of water saving policies that were meant to alleviate the demand and they have been successful to a certain extent but I feel that the general public still doesn't fully comprehend the gravity of the situation. We currently have less than 19% of usable water left in our dams and 10% of that is unusable.

The city has advised all residents that we should be consuming a maximum of 100 litres per day and stocking up on emergency water supplies that can be used for basic hygiene and drinking.

18839658_1369560203080895_3939264856247152176_o.png

I have implemented water saving measures in my own home, from reducing the number of times I shower in the week, only flushing the toilet with grey water collected from the shower and washing, I haven't washed my car in 4 months just to name a few.

This weekend I took a ride out to the Theewaterskloof Dam to take a look for myself and I was shocked.
There is a section in a post I wrote about my last ride there where you can see a 360 view of the dam and how full it used to be.

https://steemit.com/travel/@capetown/biking-in-cape-town-a-breakfst-run-from-cape-town-to-franschhoek

Here is a video recorded on the same day by IanYoutubIan.

This is a very real and serious threat the people of Cape Town face. We are in for a very dry winter and wont have enough water for 2018.

To my Capetonian readers and to people all over the world be water wise, its a precious resource.

IMG-20170604-WA0003.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center