Hanging Fence

The previous owners of our house bought the lot next door and removed the trailer. The size of the lot essentially doubled, but they left behind a lot of semi-useful stuff: stone steps, a satellite dish, a power pole with a breaker box, and a bunch of miscellaneous garbage I've since discarded. The steps have become a place to hang out and sit around a fire pit. The satellite dish is still an eye sore, but the power pole, as it would turn out, had some value.

Recently a neighbor's daughter and her family moved refurbished a house, built a barn, and moved in. The father had seen our unused power pole and asked if we'd be willing to sell it. It wasn't doing us any good, so my wife and I figured why not. But as we thought, we realized that they had just run a couple miles of woven wire fence around the daughter's property; we had set posts, but stretching wire wasn't something I had done before, and wasn't entirely sure how to build a fence stretcher.

As my wife and I thought about a price for the power pole, it dawned on me to offer up a trade. Help me run fence, and they could take the pole. Some folks might suggest this was a bunk deal, but today we stretched fence and I learned a good deal of knowledge. Today we fenced in the pasture for our goats, but I also learned a skill that I will use and reuse in the future, and for me, there's so much more value in that than in a little bit of cash.

Sow seeds of liberty so we can all reap sheaves of freedom together.


https://homesteadsandhomeschools.libsyn.com/rss
doge - DDAJMYvKMiZtGNsEXyfNw4GaagvSrL4QYE
ltc - MTndBdTmzE9CyPEJak8PJPyZfYE3uCyJFD
btc – 3MTXSsDkhpzDsmPZhxGUj2BRDNS4K6Wnvw

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now