UNITY IN DIVERSITY : NYSC Scheme from my perspective!

Hello my fellow great steemians, its me again the naija lady @bekky but this time around I will be gisting you guys what I have been able to deduced from the National Youth Service Scheme that has been in place since 1973 and its still on going and functioning till date.

Its some kind of tradition to all Nigerian students both the one's here and abroad to go through a compulsory one year service delivery to the country as a whole either you a graduate from a Monotechnics, Polytechnics, or the University but must be at your first degree and with age limit or 30-31.

Before I graduated, I had had so much passion to serve my fatherland so much that anytime I see a Corper, I feel a joy in my heart that one day, I will also be one which by God grace I am. While I nurture the passion I had friends and families then who never wanted to be a partaker or even wanted to be tagged with the NYSC uniform because some felt they are too big and some feel the scheme is a waste of time.

hand-1917895__480.pngSource

I am writing here to you out there who is yet to be a graduate or are you graduate and you are running from the one year service scheme then it you are also the type that wish to know more about other people culture and you want to input your own little way of bringing unity to this our country...am pleading please reconsider; even if you are not in any of the categories, I am advising you to try and go for your service.

TO THE BUSINESS OF TODAY

As a graduate, I waited impatiently (permit me to use that word because I was so into me going for my service after graduating) to be mobilised (to be called up for the service year). After waiting for a year and some months, the call up letter came and I was deployed to one of the *hottest, scary and almost out of the country state, Yobe State and now I was calm but I being someone who love travelling and meeting new people and learning new ways of life, I took up the challenge and went for my three weeks camping in a town in the state, after the camping we were posted to our various Primary Place of Assignment. Lest I forget, we were given opportunity to redeploy based on three reasons :
Insecurity, Marital and Health, most of us (95%) applied for it and at the end of the camping some were smiling while some were crying profusely and blaming themselves, while some immediately ran to cancel their relocation and were retained at Yobe.

20171203_171022.jpg

I can boldly say that 95% of us that waited behind were posted to high places at the Federal Government Parastatals in which if you work your way, you can be retained and trust me you non of their labours here are owed any salary.

I travelled home to get some of my things and I came back to the Corpers lodge where we have corpers from various states of the country. In my lodge, we have Corper from Anambra, Ebonyi, Adamawa, Jos, Kaduna, Oyo, Ogun, Borno and even others but we all live in peace and unity.
IMG_20180121_103108.jpg
This is one crucial aspect of the scheme that really got me writing this post because in my lodge, I found out we live in peace and we show love to one another.

For examples:

The Igbos among us showed us how to make a particular food called African Salad locally called Abacha and we all had a taste of the salad.
IMG_20180119_140335.jpg

IMG_20180119_141330.jpg

IMG_20180119_142225.jpg

Days after, another Corper from the Northern part cooked a soup comprising mainly of beans, locustbean, moringa leaves,and spiced up and we took it with the local maize meal;Tuwo mazara** and believe the meal was sumptuous.**

IMG_20180120_150853.jpg

IMG_20180120_150934.jpg

IMG_20180120_151014.jpg
We all have been showing ourselves different ways of our life from our different cultural background and to me this has been possible through the scheme put up by the Nigerian Federal Government.

I have been relating with them just I would do with my sisters because they all are wonderful people who watch out for each other like family.

You might have an additional point or contrary view on this topic, please I need contributions from you my readers, use my comment box.

I remain your naija lady @bekky...
#onelovekeepsustogether

CF00C993-0A8B-4D1B-A6BB-3A2D7AE64266L0001.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center