A late night bro hangout with my Alma Mater Friends

IMG_20170806_005148-01.jpeg


Hey Steemians!

It's not an everyday opportunity to hangout with old friends from school, at least not in my case. At 23 years of age, most of my peers are still in university. It's only on the rarest of occasions that I get to meet them. It's times like these when I feel like I was back in school again... Not that I'm missing old days, but it's a nice walk down memory lane if you know what I mean.

Screenshot_20170813-192145-01.jpeg

We met up and decided - at the very last minute, because the best social plans are made in the last minutes; to hang out in this "mamak" place. "Mamak" in South East Asian culture refers to people of Southern Indian Muslim descent, specifically the Tamil, whose forefathers embraced Islam as they migrate to South East Asia. Good for them, and good for us, because now I get to enjoy their unique cuisine. 😅😅.

If there's a Mamak drink i like above all else, it'd be the Lassi, Mango Lassi. To all of you here reading (thank you for that!), you're missing out if you've never tasted a Lassi before.

IMG_20170806_004337-01.jpeg

bad picture, but just to show you, the "juice" in the jar is of Lassi I'm drinking.

I'll let Wikipedia describe to you what it is, be warned. Description may cause mouth watering.

"Lassi is a popular traditional yogurt-based drink from the Indian Subcontinent. Lassi is a blend of yogurt, water, spices and sometimes fruit. Traditional lassi is a savoury drink, sometimes flavoured with ground and roasted cumin."


Lassi, in all its glory.. | Source

See.. Told you.

But anyways, I've gone a long Segway.. Back to the point.

We talked about everything we can talk about. From the customary "how's life" all to politics (no Malaysian hangouts are complete without talking about politics) and the what's the best new apps and more, I don't seem to recall.

IMG_20170806_005126-01.jpeg
With so much talk I got hungry.. So I ordered a "Mee Jawa", Java Noodle. Surprisingly, unlike the suggests, it's a dish of Malaysian origin! Maybe it's invented by the Javanese community in their stay in Malaysia.. Which kinda makes its confusing because is it really a Malaysian dish then? Do jus soli or jus sanguinis applies? And so happens that be one of our conversations!!

Yea, I noticed "Men talk" aren't the stereotypical gruntings of "who win sports, what's sexy" hooha... Our minds wonders to weird places... One of them happens to be nationality law. 😂😂

After what's seems a blink of an eye, it's 3am in the morning, with work the nest day. But it was fun tho!! I look forward to talking to them again. By the way I purposely did not mention "Steem" to them because

  1. Bro time
  2. Easy to show them the magic of Steem with a post about them with dolla signs ( don't mistake me!!! read my other posts if you think I'm in it for the money! 😤)

Thank you for taking you time to read this all to the end. I realise its not some fancy deep philosophical or opinion post. But if you like it. Do let know and you know how😉, you'd wanna make it possible for my above point no. 2 afterall right?? 😂😂


I'm @awesomianist

Stay Awesome!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center