Adventures in Gingerbread House Making

I’ll admit it, I don’t love our elf-on-the-shelf. My 9 year old pretends not to know it’s me because she loves hijinx. She complains when he isn’t wacky enough and reminds me before bed “I sure hope Poe makes a mess tonight (wink, wink)".

It probably doesn’t help that my best friend Chrissie has killer elf-on-the-shelf game and Luna gets to hear all the wild stories from her best friend Hayden about Rio’s antics.

Luckily, our elf delivered last night and brought us a this sweet gingerbread house to decorate.

IMG_7119.JPG

Certainly my 2 year old is old enough to actually enjoy this and not just throw all the candy on the floor?

Here we are, gluing the walls and roof and chimney with icing.

IMG_7120.JPG

I can’t tell you how bad for your health this “food” from china must be and how many times I have to remind (beg) my children to stop eating the icing.

We decorated the roof and had to take a break. My two year old is potty training and recently has this thing where she will not sit on a toilet to do number 2. She will point an authrotaive hand up at your face if you ask her if she’s pooping and yell “no! Stop!” in a low grunt that tells you she is.

I thought I’d aced getting her onto the potty in time until my 9 year old fell off of the couch laughing at something she’d obviously seen. I assumed poo fell on the floor. I wish poo fell on the floor.

IMG_7123.JPG

This is pretty much just a day in the mom-life though so after a quick clean up we marched back to the gingerbread house that they never give you enough icing for. I had to make a new batch after we used it all on the roof. Thankfully, we eventually managed to create this masterpiece....

IMG_7124.JPG

Worth it.

These are the memories that last a lifetime. 😉🎄🎅

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now