THE POLITICS OF STEEMIT ARE SCARING ME.

DISCLAIMER: I am still a noob, feel free to calm my worries :)

Do we really want to live in a world were there is an economic incentive to self-censor, not disclose your true beliefs and don't say anything that could be regarded as mean or offensive because it could cost you some $$$? Tyranny of the majority on class-A steroids. Its beginning to feel dystopian to me. There is zero point in a censorship resistant platform if it aggressively encourages users to censor themselves and flag those with unpopular viewpoints or who post things considered offensive. Thought crime much? Its impossible to browse the content on this site naturally because your constantly considering the economics of what you are doing. This is literally the opposite of a free society, which I find incredibly ironic given this place is flooded with so-called Anarchists and Libertarians.

I think steemit is amazing as a sociopolitical experiment and incredibly valuable as a history lesson for developers of decentralized technology. I will continue to use the platform, however I am becoming more and more disillusioned as time passes.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now