RE: RE: Should Statutory Rape Be A Strict-Liability Offense?
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should Statutory Rape Be A Strict-Liability Offense?

RE: Should Statutory Rape Be A Strict-Liability Offense?

Yeah, I agree that Mark is definitely not an open-minded individual, to say the least about him. His kind also usually engage in what is called selective hearing.

In one of the YouTube videos I embedded in my article above, YouTuber Thecast: Life Video Blog does state that one of the reasons that statutory-rape laws were created was to preserve the purity of young women so that they would remain suitable for marriage. Heather Corinna researched into the background of statutory-rape laws, and she found out that California was one of the first state jurisdictions here in our nation to raise its statutory age of consent to 18 years old inasmuch as lawmakers wanted to crack down on the problem that California had with prostitution in the early 1900s. In the mid-1800s, the statutory age of consent in California was 10 years old. Then it was subsequently raised to 14 years old so many years later and then 16 years old. They ultimately raised their age of consent to 18 years old in the year 1913, and it has remained at that for over a hundred years.

Here you can review details of the historical background of the legal construct of "statutory rape." Other nations do have statutory-rape laws, but they are usually not as Draconian as they are here in the United States of America.

Your friend, Hector Vera, followed me here on my Hive-Blog channel last night. My article about him is still on my radar screen. Tell him to be patient and I will be getting that article out eventually in the near future. Currently, my Resource Credits are very low as I have been doing certain enhancements on my Hive-Blog channel to get it up to snuff. One thing that I used to do when I first started my Steemit channel was that I bolded anything that I attached a link to in order to encourage my readers to click on the link. I'm going through each and every one of my articles to do so to any article to which I have not yet done it here on Hive Blog. Once my Resource Credits charge up again here on my Hive-Blog channel, I will be publishing my article about Mr. Vera shortly thereafter.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now