Another Bonsai Rock, Lake Tahoe photo... But A Very Different Look! - Which One Do You Like Best?

Yesterday I posted a nice Bonsai Rock photo at sunrise with a colorful sky. Today, I am sharing a photo shot the same morning at the same spot, but with a very different look.

Shooting a colorful sunset or sunrise is usually my goal when I head over to Tahoe's east shore, but when I arrive at a location early, I tend to shoot anyway. Sometimes the long exposure shots you can get at the lake before a sunrise or after a sunset can be really cool.

Bonsai Rock Morning 1.jpg
click image for larger view

The exposure time for this photo was 264 seconds, or about a four and a half minute long shot. The long exposure helps "smear" the clouds as they move across the sky giving a wild look to this shot. The long exposure also helps smooth out the surface of the water and gives it an eerie calm look. This was shot on a Canon 5Dsr with a 24-105mm lens set at 24mm. The ISO was 50 and the aperture was f22. A tripod was used and I believe I used a polarizing filter and a graduated neutral density filter which can help lengthen the exposure time but it was super early in the morning and I don't quite remember, lol.

Below is the photo I posted yesterday, and here is it's post with more details in case you missed it: Bonsai Rock, Lake Tahoe. This One Is For @Shadalene's #WaterWednesday Contest

Which of the two looks that were shot on the same morning do you like best?

Sunrise at Bonsai Rock 3(1).jpg
click image for larger view

Thank you for looking and reading!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

For @Shadalene's #naturephotocontest - #timelapsethursday

Previous posts of interest:

CConference.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center