❤ So...tomorrow is Valentines Day!


Love is in the Air

Tomorrow is Valentine's Day, which is a holiday that I haven't been giddy about since my teenage years. Now, I don't want to be the scrouge of Vday, I loooooove romance, and love to be spoiled (even if it does make me bratty 😍). However, I do not think we need a day, 2 days really, (what is that other ridiculous holiday "Sweetest Day"?), to celebrate love. Tell people you love them often. Random surprises mean a lot more to me than obligatory ones. I give love freely to anyone who is willing to receive it, and will most definitely remind you of your worth, if you happen to forget.


Normally, my Dustin will still spoil me with flowers, chocolate or a card (sometimes all 3). If he doesn't.... I wont be mad at all, I will simply go buy myself flowers and/or chocolate (I highly recommend you ladies do the same). I will possibly buy him some chocolate, and maybe a little something else, but I haven't yet, and honestly have not thought about it very much. Before we had a handful of children, Dustin use to take me out to a fancy dinner, which i rather enjoyed. Celebrating after having kids looks a lot different. I will absolutely cook a nice dinner tomorrow, and I will fancy myself up in a party dress (those who know me know that I need no reason whatsoever to be fancy). Heck, maybe I will even make some cupcakes. Then, I will go to work, because first and foremost, it is Wednesday tomorrow and I am scheduled to work.

If you want to make a BiG show of this holiday you absolutely should. However, I think it is more important (to me anyways) to do things consistently to show your love for people. Shovel the driveway, let each other randomly sleep in, help one another with the housework, give each other random surprises (just because it is Thursday), compliment one another, be encouraging. If your partner forgets Valentine's Day (or any other commercial holiday) don't have a massive fight, go get yourself a damn gift (even share your newly bought chocolate with them), and still show your love on February 15th once all the obligatory jazz has worn off.

Much Love,

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now