My experience as a foreigner living in South Korea

IMG_2056.JPG
I lived in Seoul, South Korea from the years 2001 - 2004. If I were to go back today, I'm sure I would not be able to recognize it at all.

In the past 10 years, South Korea's economy has exploded. It has soared to the top and is one of the main economic powerhouses in Asia. With brands like Samsung and Hyundai, Korea is known for its innovations in technology around the world.

But that was not the case when I lived there. While Seoul was certainly a big city, it was far from what it is today. There was no gangnam style or flashy signs reminiscent of times square. In fact, people were not particularly fond of embracing western culture, and traditional Korean culture was much more widespread.

Out in the fields, many farmer were still using their feces to fertilize their crops and lived in very modest housing. I would say the average Korean back then was better off than the average Asian back then, but the standard of living was incomparable to what I experienced in the United States.

When I hear about Korea nowadays, it is mostly about KPOP or the release of some new technology, and I just grin thinking about how much Korea has developed in the past decade. It has once again become a foreign place to me, and a place I hope to visit again someday!

P.S. This post wasn't meant to be negative towards Korea in any way, just some observations about how much it has changedIMG_2057.JPGIMG_2059.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center