How KPop saved my life

Yes it may seem like exaggeration as to why kpop is something that saved my life but it really as and I would actually like to share that story with all of you.

I first got into KPop when I was around 20.... 21 years old and at first I wasn't even really fully aware it was kpop. Around this time, I was actually going through depression (I still do to be quite honest but it isn't as bad anymore) due to not having any friends, going through pregnancy termination and having the baby's father cheat on me on my birthday. Yes he was that type of scumbag but I got over it.

I was already really into Harry Potter at the time as well but I felt as if no one fully understood me in the Potter fandom plus I felt as if I was outgrowing my love for the franchise since honestly the movies were pretty much almost done at that point. And my family members didn't understand my Harry Potter fandom because they kept saying it was for children. (They don't understand my KPop fandom either but I shall get into that later on in this post.) I was also into Glee. And of course, no one that I was friends with at the time (other than maybe one or two online friends) understood my love for it. But Glee did open up my love for music again. A love that I have had ever since I was little.

That's when my friend who was also into the Harry Potter fandom introduced me to Super Junior and their music and I immediately started to fall in love with them. And since tumblr was really big around that time... my tumblr slowly changed from being Harry Potter and Glee centric to becoming one for KPop and mostly Super Junior.

This fandom that I have been a part of for almost 10 years actually helped me meet my best friend who lives in the Philippines as well as some other friends who had the same interests as I did and that I can confide in on personal stuff as well. Through tumblr, I was able to talk to someone that I have been talking to whenever I'm down and I started to find my happiness once again.

Now my family... they don't really understand my love for kpop and literally always ask me why I love kpop so much. But they slowly realized I'm more sane and happy when I'm listening to kpop plus they realized that because I'm learning the dances... that I'm actually exercising instead of staying in front of the computer.

There was also a time in my life where I lived with my aunt and uncle and my aunt literally made me want to kill myself but whenever I listened to a kpop song... it made me keep my sanity and not blow up. Long story short, my aunt literally tried to tell me that my parents don't love me and that I'm a loser that will never do anything in life, even going as far as telling me that I should kill myself and no one would ever miss me. (I might go into these things one day on here but maybe later.)

So has KPop saved my life... I would say yes. And I still say it does save my life. Because without it, I probably won't even be here today... I'm able to smile brightly today because of this genre.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center