Stone Basin in Mireuk Seonwon Temple in Geumsan

At this time, I decided to travel to Geumsan.
Geumsan is located in the middle of South Korea.
It is located in the middle of Silla and Beakje where historically there have been many wars.
Moreover, all the Buddhist temples in this area were burned during the war with Japan in 1592-1599.

I did some research beforehand, but there were a few old temples left.
Also, there was no detailed explanation about temples. So, I decided to visit the nearest temple.
The first place I visited was the temple in the name of Mireuk Seonwon
I was told that there was a stone basin(stone bowl for water) and old Buddha’s head in this temple.
This temple is located in a mountain valley.
I could realize immediately that it was not built long ago.

The first thing I noticed was stone basin.
In the description, there was no information about the time when it was created.
When I saw the condition of the stone, I was assured that it was made a long time ago. Also, it was not known where it had been. Perhaps it was brought from somewhere when the temple was built.

Maybe people tried to bring old stuff because the temple had a short history.

PA010003.JPG

PA010004.JPG

PA010008.JPG

I wonder if the mason who made the stone basin ever imagined where his work would be in the future.

Whenever I see the cultural heritage, I think of the people who made it.

Although Daeungjeon was newly made, it was magnificent.

PA010005.JPG

Buddha statue which was seen through the front door looked great with its halo.

PA010006.JPG

PA010007.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now