Kobe Bryant: Original The Lords of Hemp Screenplay

kobe-bryant-932875_1920.jpg
Image Credit Pixabay.com

Kobe Bryant:

I ain’t mad at ya bro. Ha, ha, honestly he’s gotten me in a lot of trouble.

Anyways we did a big special for him today. Saw all the tributes last night at the Grammys.

Here’s the original The Lords of Hemp screenplay written in April of 2008 while living in Los Angeles, selling digital signage. Hemp Inc. just started in Las Vegas...

The Lords of Hemp: A Screenplay by Cyrus Emerson
Introduction
INT: A wealthy man sitting in the cabin of a limousine with a red rose in his lapel.
EXT: Chauffer driving a $100,000 sedan southbound on Interstate-5 in northern California, afternoon.
CREDITS APPEAR: The Lords of Hemp.

The Lords of Hemp – Scene 1
EXT: The west Los Angeles skyline, afternoon.
INT: A business man talking on a phone in an executive suite.
Mr. Sinclair:
“Listen Bear, we need to talk. You’ve seen what’s going on with the financial markets. It’s utter chaos. Housing foreclosures, the credit crunch, the stock market slump, rising gas and oil prices, the cost of the war, I mean everything is messed up right now. What are we going to do?
Pause.
“The prototype is complete and you’re driving it south.”
Pause.
“That’s amazing. This is the beginning of a new world order. From this point on the future of civilization has changed. Only we need to take it all the way Bear. What we’re doing is illegal. We’re in the dark running a black op without government approval here. We need to take this to the congress. We need to get a law passed that will make this official. This advancement in technology helps to insure a life on earth for future generations, only we’ve got to protect our families today, and in order to do that we’ve got to make this legal on a national level.”
Pause.
“Listen Bear, we’ve been trying our best here. We’ve got some of the top executives in the business working with some amazing lawyers, and we’re still treading water here. Big oil has all the cards and we can’t get the public to take alternative energy seriously.
The proposals on the table are solid. But they keep coming back with the war in Iraq and Afghanistan. They’ve committed our national resources to that project. They won’t budge even. And what we’re proposing would eliminate the need to be there.
It’s really simple. We both know it. They’re making a fortune on paper blind to the consequences of their actions.”

The Lords of Hemp – Scene 2
Ext: The east Tokyo skyline, morning.
INT: A business man talking on a phone in an executive suite.
Mr. Fujimoto
“Can you hear me Bear?”
Pause.
“I understand. We need international political support to make what you’re doing in the United States legal. Believe me; the Japanese are very surprised that this issue cannot move forward at this time. One top diplomat even stated that the light of liberty has been blown out.
Pause.
America is supposed to be the model of a capitalistic system based on freedom. And yet your company cannot sell a product that revolutionizes the entire energy market because it is illegal? It’s illegal to protect the people making money from the current status quo. The world needs this technology now.”

The Lords of Hemp – Scene 3
EXT: Two government officials on a park bench outside NATO Headquarters, early evening.
Government Official
Is it true what they say?
Alexander
Yes. But we have to wait and see. Most people think its drug money. If they can prove it they’ll take Bear down. If they can’t, then maybe everything will work out.
Government Official
It’s unbelievable, a 9.0 earthquake and a tsunami sparks the Japanese nuclear catastrophe resulting in a new technology that will forever revolutionize the energy market. We are entering a new world order Alexander, one without war, and toxic waste. Before you know it people will be colonizing Mars and then what? Space . . . it’s unbelievable.
Alexander
My dear old friend, if not for living to see these events what good would our lives be?
Government Official
But without the oppression, and abuse, what good is it to hope. What are we to look forward to if we already have it all? What good is living without striving to make it better?
Alexander
But there is still much work to do. We are not there yet. And we are getting old. We have our legacy to think about for future generations.
Government Official
Thank you for your insight. Now, I must be off to see more Russians.
Alexander
We are a stubborn people. My hope is that you do not judge my brothers more harshly than you would your long time friend.
Government Official
Of course not . . . You, like I, have grown out of that. One sees a thief and does not assume he is of a certain race for all races have thieves. One sees a saint and does not assume that only one culture produces saints. One sees the human being in the person, is it not so?
And now I must leave to meet your brothers and bring in world peace. Putin will be remembered as a great man because of his actions today; we will remember him forever.
Alexander
I hope it is true, for your sake and for mine.

The Lords of Hemp – Scene 4 – Blue Lens
Southern California / Snoop Dogg: Himself
EXT: Snoop Dogg and his entourage stand in the driveway of his mansion speaking to the Chauffer holding the keys to the $100,000 sedan.
Snoop Dogg: You mean all I have to do is drive this car around Los Angeles and you’ll pay me $100,000 a month?
Chauffer: That’s not all. We need you to tell people about the fuel and the engine. This car gets over 100 miles to the gallon running on hemp fuel. It’s something that we think you’d truly want to endorse.
Snoop Dogg: Get the fuck out of here. This car gets over 100 miles per gallon running on hemp fuel. That’s unbelievable. Man; God acts in mysterious ways. Yeah, that’s cool, give me the keys.
EXT: Snoop Dogg driving the car through Los Angeles with a big smile on his face.
(Add scenes of going to professional sporting events, and hanging out with people in the community, United Way type stuff. Coaching football.)

The Lords of Hemp – Scene 4
EXT: Dodgers Stadium – Early Evening
Mr. Sinclair
I’m glad we came tonight. You look gorgeous Jules! Check you out . . .
Jules
You’re making me blush. I’m glad we came too. Look at all of these people. I haven’t seen a crowd like this since going to football games at the University of Tennessee.
Mr. Sinclair
That’s my Southern Bell. Why don’t you speak with a Southern accent anymore? You know I love it.
Jules
Wait until tonight.
Mr. Sinclair
Now you’re making me blush.
Phone rings.
Mr. Sinclair speaks into the cell phone.
Hello Bear, are you in LA?
Pause.
You remember where we hide the key to the guest house, right?
Pause
Well then make yourself at home.
Mr. Sinclair hangs up turns to speak to his wife.
Mr. Sinclair
Bear’s back in LA.
Jules
Do you really think he can turn this mess around?
Mr. Sinclair
Bear’s an animal.

The Lords of Hemp – Scene 3
EXT. LOUNGE CHAIR NEXT TO A POOL-EARLY EVENING
A woman in a bathing suit walks past the camera and into the pool. Two men sit at a table in earnest discussion.
FIRST MAN
I heard their bringing in the head guy over there at Corn Corporation.
SECOND MAN
It won’t make a difference. I’ve got plenty of support from big oil, and with those guys on our side we should have no trouble.
FIRST MAN
I heard A’s got a ton of cash. Enough to keep them operating for another year or more . . .
SECOND MAN
It’s drug money from Oregon. We just can’t prove it yet. When we can, we’re going to take him down.
FIRST MAN
I didn’t know A did drugs?
SECOND MAN
He smokes marijuana. I’ve heard it said that’s how he got into all of this. He’s trying to legalize Hemp. Well when we get through with him he won’t have any ideals left. Just wait and see . . .

The Lords of Hemp – Scene 5
INT. STAPLES CENTER-FRIDAY April 4, 2008 DALLAS AT LA COURT SIDE
It’s halftime, Jack Nicholson is sitting courtside with two old thug looking guys. Looking up at the score board the Lakers are down by 10. He takes some gum out and pops it into his mouth.
JACK
I’m looking for a big second half. Lamar looks like he’s due for a big night.
FIRST THUG
I just can’t wait until Bynum comes back, and Chris Minh. Imagine Kobe playing point with Lamar, Minh, Bynum, and Gasol.
SECOND THUG
Garnet would have his hands full in a Celtics’-Lakers’ finals.
JACK
Celtic’s-Lakers’ finals, that would be something else, huh? I wonder if we could get Bear to come to a Championship game?
SECOND THUG
No way, Bear never makes it to anything.
FIRST THUG
I heard he drove down to LA in his Bentley.
JACK
He’s here in LA.
FIRST THUG
Yeah.
JACK
That sneaky bastard.
SECOND THUG
I heard he came down with a bunch of money to sponsor his new fuel efficient car project.
JACK
I heard something about that too.
SECOND THUG
I heard that too.
FIRST THUG
Do you think he’s really going to make a go with that new car engine?
JACK
I don’t know.
CAMERA PANS OUT
We see the Lakers coming out of their locker room. They walk back on the court. The camera comes in close as Kobe walks by Jack.
JACK
Hey Kobe you feeling it.
KOBE
Na, I think this is Lamar’s game.

The Lords of Hemp – Scene 6
INT. HOUSE LIVINGROOM-EARLY EVENING
The house is dark, we see a television playing the UCLA-Memphis game. Mr. Sinclair, and A, are smoking a joint and watching the game.
A
Kevin Love is playing a good game tonight. He played at Lake Oswego, and there was Singler who went to South Medford. Those two guys battled it out in the state championship game against each other for 3-years in a row.
MR. SINCLAIR
Really, I didn’t know that . . .
A
Yeah, it was a pretty big deal.
MR. SINCLAIR
So, we are all set up then. We’ve got an assembly line in place, and the specs for the first line are ready to be rolled out. Once we get that windfall of money things will go as planned A.
A
I’m glad to hear that. I’ve had my heart set on this project for a while. It will really be something to see it go through.
MR. SINCLAIR
Yes, well we’ve all been working hard sir to see this through.
A
Damn, we missed another three.
MR. SINCLAIR
You should have made it to the Dodgers game at the coliseum. It was a real treat, only it took forever to get out of there.
A
I heard there were over a 100,000 people.
MR. SINCLAIR
Yes, there were a lot of people. Maybe we can make it to a game while you’re down here. We could see the Lakers before the end of the season.
A
We’ll see. I’ve got a lot of work to do down here. I’m going to need your help.
MR. SINCLAIR
Of course, that’s what I’m here for. First though were going to need to transfer those funds. We’re running into heavy debt, and with the state of the economy the banks are coming down hard on us. They are going to raise our interest rates, and withdraw a further line of credit. Without our product on the market we’re not making any sales. We are going bankrupt.
A
I’ve got the money in a Swiss bank account. I have all of the details. I can give you the information, so that you can begin the transfer.
MR. SINCLAIR
It can wait until Monday. Let’s relax for now. I hope this money is clean sir. The Feds are trying to bust us down.
We are taking on some big time people, and they got a whif of our product. The oil companies, the arms dealers, and the Bush Administration all went to war for their profits. And this thing that we represent. This thing at Corn Corporation that threatens their financial existence. This thing has got them all turning around, and they are looking at you A!
We’ve got to be very careful. Any wrong move and it’s over. This dream of yours is over.
I just want to make it clear to you A. I just want you to understand the stakes. You don’t deal with people on the East Coast like I do. I want you to know that they are powerful.
A
Thanks Mr. Sinclair. That’s why you’re my guy. That’s why you are here. I need you. You’re the guy on the ground everyday. I’m just here with the money, and I’ve got some new specs that I want to show our Engineers.
It’s finished. After my Senate Hearing this summer were going to release our product. We’re going to change the world, and we’re going to be very rich.

The Lords of Hemp – Scene 7
EXT. LARGE ESTATE – AFTERNOON
A’s Bentley drives up a long driveway with shrubs, a stone fence, and statues of lions. It is like an English mansion or any other large dwelling for the super rich. The Bentley comes to a stop. The chauffer gets out and opens the door. A gets out of the car wearing a suit, and has a brief case in his hand. He runs up the steps to the front door and it opens.
Standing in the doorway is a smoking hot woman wearing a bikini.
BIKINI GIRL
Good afternoon A. Snoop’s expecting you. Let me lead you to the sitting area.
INT. MANSION
The camera follows the woman and A through the house. They enter a large sitting room with fluffy couches, red rugs, and modern art on the walls.
The woman motions for A to sit down, and he takes a seat.
BIKINI GIRL
What would you like to drink sir?
J
Ice water would be fine.
BIKINI GIRL
I’ll be right back.
A sits looking around the room, and then sees Snoop Doggy Dog walk down some stairs toward him. Snoop is dressed in Snoop gear.
SNOOP
A my man. What brings you to the Snoop Estate?
Standing up A walks toward Snoop and they shake hands.
J
I’m in the city on business and I wanted to drop by and see you. I have a present for you.
They both take a seat. Snoop looks A over with suspicious eyes.
SNOOP
What can you give a man who has everything A?
A
More of what he likes.
A opens his brief case. There is a pound of weed inside. Snoop smiles and begins to laugh.
A
I got this from a Care Giver up North. Last time we talked you asked me, ‘what was the best weed I ever smoked?’ Well here it is. The guy who grew this is a Native American Chief outside of Spokane, Washington.
SNOOP
You did right A. You know my boys and I are going to play some basketball later. You ought to play A.
A
I was hoping that you would say that. I’ve got my gear in my car.
EXT. BASKETBALL COURT – EVENING
There is a basketball court that is a replica of the LA Lakers court outside. There are stadium lights making it bright in the early evening as the sun sets.
Snoop and his homey’s are teasing A who is wearing a Kevin Love UCLA jersey.
HOMEY
Kevin Love can I have your autograph? Laughing.
SNOOP
What are you wearing that Jersey for?
A
Love played high school basketball in Oregon last year.
SNOOP
For real. He played alright in the Final Four, but that announcer guy kept calling his name out. I was like damn! There are four other guys playing here man.

The Lords of Hemp – Scene 8
INT. OFFICE – NIGHT
Mr. Sinclair is working late on his computer. The office is dimly lit with the LA skyline in the background. He looks to be struggling with a problem. He picks up the phone and makes a call.
MR. SINCLAIR
Hi A I know it’s getting late, I’m still here at the office working over these new specs that you gave the Engineers. I just want to ask where you came up with this stuff. It’s unbelievable, are you sure that this information has not gotten out to anyone else.
This time we can here A’s voice on the telephone.
A
Don’t worry Mr. Sinclair, the people that helped me with these plans are very trustworthy. I know that the secret has not gotten out. We are the only ones who know about this.
MR.SINCLAIR
Then all we have to worry about is the money. Did the transfer go through, I’ve been so wrapped up in these plans that I haven’t talked to the bank yet.
A
Yes, the money is all there. The bank called me this afternoon. I’ve been preparing for my Senate meeting. You’re right Mr. Sinclair these guys are after us. I’ve been getting calls all day from the Justice Department.
MR. SINCLAIR
I told you. I’ve got an interview next week with them as well. And I know that some of our executives have been called in already. I told the Engineers that this information is Top Secret. These plans have nothing to do with our past financial records.
A
That’s true, but they have everything to do with our future financial records.
MR. SINCLAIR
Not only that A, but we are changing the world. There are events in history that people look back on and say that’s when it all changed, and when our new product comes out, that date will be in the history books.
A
Thanks for your support. You’re correct, this is going to make history, and change the world for the better. I’ve been feeling that for some time. I’ve know it for some time. I’m glad that you are apart of the secret now. I finally have someone else in the company to talk to about this.
MR. SINCLAIR
I wish I could have been there when you guys thought of this. We’re you like a bunch of mad scientists working in a laboratory with electric arcs moving up and down the walls.
A
No. It was more like a tribe of people sitting near a river in the jungle smoking a bunch of herb.
MR. SINCLAIR
That’s more your style A. It would have been nice to be there still. I could have cooked some Bar-Bee-Q for you guys.
A
We could have used you. There were some nights when we didn’t have much to eat. Speaking of dinner, your wife just walked in the room, she wants to know when you’re coming home for dinner.
MR. SINCLAIR
Tell her I’m leaving the office right now. I just wanted to take a look at these specs one more time. I just couldn’t believe it was true. Once we get through the Senate Hearing we’re going all the way!
EXT. TRAFFIC JAM IN LA –NIGHT
Mr. Sinclair sits in the back of his limo with a martini looking through the window at the lines of cars. He shakes his head.
MR. SINCLAIR
None of this matters anymore. In a year from now this is going to be a distant nightmare.

The Lords of Hemp – Scene 9
EXT. CAMP FIRE – NIGHT
The flames of a fire burn bright as a collection of modern Native Americans dance around a fire. People are playing drums, and laughing. The camera moves through to a young couple sitting on the ground.
NATIVE WOMAN
I’m glad you came tonight. This is a special moment for me. I wasn’t sure if it could ever be like this again.
NATIVE MAN
I almost didn’t make it. That car crash almost did me in.
NATIVE WOMAN
You’re here now. We’ve made it this far, and we can fight against the night together. I’m sure we’ll live to see the morning.
NATIVE MAN
Yes, we’ll make it until tomorrow. I’ve been such a jerk. I’ll never live down all the things I did while I was drunk.
NATIVE WOMAN
Don’t worry about it. How many people have jumped into a mountain river? And do we remember all of their names? This world won’t last forever, there will be others after it, and do you think those people will remember that you were a drunk.
NATIVE MAN (LAUGHING)
You’re right. At least we haven’t had children yet. Maybe if we have children now, they’ll never see their Dad drunk.
NATIVE WOMAN
We should start tonight. It is a good night to create life.
NATIVE MAN
Yes. Let’s start tonight. I don’t want to be too old when my son is in his 20s.
NATIVE WOMAN
You mean you’re daughter.
NATIVE MAN
Maybe we should have twins.
NATIVE WOMAN
Just like a man to demand more of his woman. If we have twins you’d better love me forever and ever.
NATIVE MAN
I will love you forever no matter what happens.

INT. COUCH NEAR AN OPEN WINDOW – AFTERNOON
We see A sleeping on a couch. The curtains of the window move in the breeze. We can see palm trees in the blue sky. We get a feeling of being near the beach.
Mr. Sinclair and his wife Z enter the room. They smile at each other.
MR. SINCLAIR
A, we’re going to start the Bar-Bee-Q.
Stirring from his nap A looks around the room dazed.
A
What? What’s going on?
MR. SINCLAIR
You asked us to wake you when we got ready to cook dinner. Well, we’re ready and there are guests arriving soon.
A
Sounds good . . . I just fell into a deep sleep is all. Did B call?
Z
No. She didn’t call, she’s fine A, her mom is watching after her.
A
I’m just worried about her.

The Lords of Hemp – Scene 10
EXT. POOL SIDE BAR-BEE-QUE – NIGHT
There is a crowd of people mingling around a pool. Near a doorway, light spills through into the night air.
EXT. JUST INSIDE HOUSE WITH POOL IN BACKGROUND
A sits on a couch watching the Lakers vs. Trailblazers on April, 8th 2008. He’s smoking a joint and makes a call on his cell phone.
A
Hey G, are you at the game?
G
Yeah, we’re getting worked.
A
I thought they were going to get into a fight earlier.
G
I knew Lamar didn’t foul that guy. That was a terrible call.
THE CROWD CHEERS ON THE PHONE. THERE IS A DELAY, AND THEN THE CROWD STANDS UP ON THE TELEVISION.
G
We got to get back into this game. Come on Kobe! and one!
ON THE TELEVISION KOBE SCORES A LAYUP AND GETS FOULED.
The Lords of Hemp – Scene 11
INT. BOARDROOM – AFTERNOON
We see executives sitting around a large oak desk, A sits at the head of the table. It is everything we would expect in a fortune 500 boardroom. The LA skyline is outside the window.
EXECUTIVE 1
I’ve got to tell you A. I talked to one of our major distributors today about the new product we’re about to launch. I showed them the specs, nothing to sensitive, and under condition of secrecy. And he couldn’t believe it. He told me it was “sexy.” And this is from an old stiff like me from a major outlet. “Sexy.”
Everyone in the room laughs a little.
EXECUTIVE 2 – FEMALE
“Sexy,” is perfect. We should run with that during the marketing of our product launch. We could have a picture of our product with the word “sexy” on a major publication, maybe even Time. This isn’t just a product, its something that changes the way we live like a cell phone, computer, the Internet, or an iPod.
A
I like it. It could be our slogan. Our branding image “Sexy.” We need a major celebrity spokeswoman like . . .
EXECUTIVE 3
Paris Hilton
EXECUTIVE 4
Sophisticated, and rich, but maybe she has too much glamour. What about Angelina Jolie? She has more integrity.
EXECUTIVE 2 – FEMALE
What about Tina Fey? She’s smart, “sexy,” and has a sense of humor. She can also get us on NBC with her show 30 Rock, and maybe a skit on Saturday Night Live. We could time her endorsement, and a segment on her show with the launch date. We could even back it up with a marketing campaign in New York.
A
I like it. It’s big, and it will get people’s attention. However, we can always laugh at it. It isn’t that big of a deal that we’re putting oil companies out of business, it’s just an evolution. Besides, they can always jump on board. It’s just Tina Fey, isn’t she funny? And New York has been obstinate about our company until recently. We’re going to need to make inroads there. We need them to come along for the ride.
MR. SINCLAIR
I agree A. We should give her a call, but my suggestion would be to wait for a while to settle on our celebrity endorsement. Maybe we might even think about having more than one. We could find celebrities all over the world to promote our product in different countries.
Everyone stops to think about that for a moment.
A
Of course . . . We must be thinking globally. We could have Tina Fey in New York, and we could have Marion Cotillard, who just won the Oscar for Best Actress, doing something in Paris.
MR. SINCLAIR
Good idea sir. I’ve got a contact that is an international marketing specialist. I’ll bring him in, and we can get an informed international celebrity opinion.
A
Let’s do it. I move to adjourn the meeting until after lunch.
MR. SINCLAIR
Alright everyone, let’s meet back in here at 2.

The Lords of Hemp – Scene 12
INT. BACK SEAT OF A’S BENTLY – DARK INTERIOR OF CAR
A and Mr. Sinclair sit on the seat looking over specs.
MR. SINCLAIR
So how does it actually work A? Give it to me in plan English.
A
Well, in the United States we tried corn based Ethanol. It took more energy to produce than it gave out. And even if we used all the corn, including the food supply, we could never become energy independent.
It turns out in Brazil they have achieved energy independence through a sugar cane based ethanol. We cannot grow sugar cane in the United States because of the climate.
MR. SINCLAIR
Yes, I remember that. What have you done differently here?
A
This information does not leave my car Mr. Sinclair.
MR. SINCLAIR
Understood. Sir.
A
We have developed a hemp based ethanol that is over a hundred times more affective than sugar based ethanol. The entire world can achieve energy independence from oil within 5 years. All we need to do is have the government legalize hemp.
MR. SINCLAIR
And I have your word the money you used to float the company did not come from selling hemp on the black market.
A
You have my word Mr. Sinclair. Those details will be released at the Senate Hearing. I am sworn to secrecy over the source of the funds.
INT. BENTLEY WINDOW
The bullet proof glass bursts into rings and a thunderous sound fills the cabin. The engine of the Bentley purrs and the car speeds away from the gun fire.
MR. SINCLAIR
Who could that be A?
A
I suspect corporate espionage. I believe the oil companies are out to kill us.

The Lords of Hemp – Scene 13
INT. OFFICE- AFTERNOON
A sits at a desk. He is looking over piles of paper work. He is on the phone, and is very interested in the voice on the other end.
A
So, we have no idea who shot at us. There’s no evidence of any kind. Well, I’d like to have some sort of security detail, or some more protection. I don’t want to be a sitting target for a sniper. I’m sure you can understand.
VOICE
Of course sir. We can beef up security, and we can hire someone to look into this case closer than the authorities, but I want you to know that at this time there is not a lot we can do. With no concrete leads, or without more information, we are at a standstill on this incident.
A
Alright then. We’ll just have to be more prepared for a future event. Keep me informed.
VOICE
Yes Sir. Is there anything else we can do for you?
A
No that will be all.
A hangs up the telephone. He stands up from his desk and walks towards the window. Taking a deep breath and exhaling, he scratches his head in frustration. He walks back to his desk and pushes a button on his telephone.
A
Mr. Sinclair, have you got any additional details about our assassination attempt?
MR. SINCLAIR
I have detailed information about the bullets, and the type of gun used in the attempted assassination that I could send you. As for the man behind the gun the FBI has informed me that he is a professional. That is all we know about him.
A
Or her . . .

The Lords of Hemp – Scene 14
INT. GUEST HOUSE MR. SINCLAIR’S ESTATE – NIGHT
A is on the telephone. He is walking around the guest house in his shorts, he looks ready to go for a swim in the pool.
A
B, I’m freaking out. It’s not every week that you have someone try to kill you. I want to see you. I’ve still got some business in L.A., but you could fly down and hang out for the next couple of days. I would really like to see you.
B’S VOICE
Yes babe, I’ll be there tomorrow. Are you alright! I’m scared for you. I knew this was going to get nasty.
A
It’s OK babe. We had bullet proof glass. Still, the shock of it all is more than I expected. I thought something like this might happen, and so we took precautions, but when it really happens it’s more than what you expected.
A takes a hit from a joint, and exhales as Mr. Sinclair walks into the guest house. A passes the joint to Mr. Sinclair and he takes a hit.
B’S VOICE
I’ll be there tomorrow. I’m going to make love to you all night.
A
That’s my girl, that’s what I need right now. Mr. Sinclair just walked into the room, would you like to speak with him.
B’S VOICE
Yes, put him on the phone.
A passes the phone to Mr. Sinclair.
A
It’s B.
MR. SINCLAIR
Hello B, I assume that A told you about the assassination attempt.
B’S VOICE
Yes, are you alright?
MR. SINCLAIR
Yes, I’m fine. We had a good scare though. Will you be visiting us then?
B’S VOICE
Yes, I’ll be there tomorrow.
MR. SINCLAIR
Z will be happy to see you.
B’SVOICE
Is she at home? I’ll give her a call.
MR. SINCLAIR
Yes, she’s in the house. Just give her a call on her cell phone. She’ll be glad to hear from you.
B’S VOICE
I’ll give her a call right now. I’m glad to hear that you’re alright Mr. Sinclair. I’ll see you tomorrow.
MR. SINCLAIR
Sounds good B. Have a good night.
Mr. Sinclair hangs up the phone and hands it back to A. A puts it on a table near the couch and takes a seat. Mr. Sinclair sits down as well. And the two begin passing a joint back and forth.
MR. SINCLAIR
A, we are having a stock holders meeting to approve the acceptance of the funds that you have made available for the corporation. Will you be attending tomorrow?
A
No, B and I will be spending some time together.
MR. SINCLAIR
That’s understandable after what we have been through. I still have to preside over the meeting, and I need to know how you want to vote?
A
I will agree with the board of directors.
MR. SINCLAIR
Even if they decide to deny your funds?
A
They won’t, they need that money. And even the people that want to see me go down in the Senate Hearing will vote to approve the measure if for no reason than to have something more to hold over me.
MR. SINCLAIR
But you won’t go down, sir. The funds didn’t come from drug money?
A
That’s right Mr. Sinclair. Everything is going to be fine at the Senate Hearing. I can understand your caution, believe me, I don’t hold it against you. I’m sure that you will never be 100 percent until after the Senate Hearing. I just need to keep your confidence in me at 75 percent. We’ve been through a lot Mr. Sinclair, this is just one more time, but after this we will have made it to our goal. Don’t stop now Mr. Sinclair, fight for me tomorrow if you have to, but do it in the belief that this will work out in the end. We are almost there.
MR. SINCLAIR
Yes Sir. We will make it through this. I want you to know I’m glad I have the opportunity to be here representing you at this moment. When this is all over we should take our ladies on a nice long cruise.
A
The Caribbean, or the Mediterranean, I’ve heard the South of France is beautiful. Maybe a stop in Cypress?
MR. SINCLAIR
That’s the ticket Sir. That’s how we’re going to get through this . . . I need to get my passport updated, but the Mediterranean sounds like a good place to me.

The Lords of Hemp – Scene 15
EXT. LAX – MORNING
A’s Bentley is parked outside the airport in the loading area. The bullet marks on the windshield are still there. The chauffer is looking for B while A smokes some weed inside the car. We see the chauffer return with B and open the door to the back seat where A sits. Some smoke comes out of the car, and a group of college kids laugh raising their hands. A cop catches a whiff, and makes his way to the car as it takes off. Because of the value of the car the cop doesn’t pursue the smell of weed.
INT. CAR
A and B embrace each other and kiss. B has tears in her eyes as she looks at the broken glass from the assassination attempt.
B
I’m so glad you’re still alive A. I couldn’t sleep last night. Look at the glass! My god! If you hadn’t have gotten bullet proof glass you’d be dead.
A
Yes, and Mr. Sinclair as well. There were two shots both meant to kill. The assassin was a professional according to the FBI.
B
What are we going to do?
A
I have confidence in law enforcement. They have some big guys working on the case, and this morning they told me they have a lead, but that they could not give me any more information. We’re going to be alright B. We just need to do what we always do. We’re going to make it.
They begin to kiss again.

The Lords of Hemp – Scene 16
INT. GUEST HOUSE – EVENING
A and B lay in bed together.
A
This is so much better. I’m glad that you came down here to be with me, what is with all the top secret meetings between you and your mother.
B
I don’t want to tell you yet. You’re going to have to wait.
A
Alright, I can play along, but I’m waiting to hear. You’ve perked my curiosity.
B
Just think of it as making everything even. You’ve got the entire world on its feet, and people up in arms about what you’re going to say at the Senate Hearing this summer, and no one knows what’s going to happen. Well, this is my revenge. This is my way of getting back at you for that. Besides, I won’t be able to hide it forever. You’ll find out soon enough and it’s not fair.
A
Come on Megan let me know . . . Tell me . . .
B
No, you’re going to have to wait until later. Now kiss me again.

The Lords of Hemp – Scene 17
INT. BOARDROOM – DAY
Mr. Sinclair is walking around the boardroom speaking. A and B are at NBC studios. There is music playing as the scene cuts back and forth.
MR. SINCLAIR
That’s the point my friends. Either we take this money and worry about the August Senate Hearing. Or we go belly up right now.
A
Come on B. Let’s go see the Jay Leno show.
MR. SINCLAIR
The vote is easy. Let’s keep the corporation alive. Let’s plunge forward into the unknown. We are releasing our product in the fall. Everything that we have fought for over the years comes to a climax, and the reward for our effort sits there.
B
Alright, alright, let’s go see the Jay Leno show.
They are laughing and flirting.
MR. SINCLAIR
All those in favor of moving forward with the recommendations of the Board of Directors say I.
BOARD OF DIRECTORS
I.
A ON CELL PHONE
Mr. Sinclair, how did the vote go?
INT. OFFICE – DARK
Mr. Sinclair sits at his desk smoking a pipe.
MR. SINCLAIR
Unanimous decision Sir . . . We are going full speed ahead.
A
I’m glad to hear that. Now, I just need to prepare for the Senate. B and I just watched the taping of the Jay Leno Show, and now we’re going to Venice Beach to get a bite to eat. I’ll be home late. However, Mr. Sinclair, I wonder if you could have some briefs for the hearing prepared and waiting for me tomorrow morning.
MR. SINCLAIR
With pleasure Sir. I’ll get our law team on it tonight.
A hangs up the phone and kisses B.
A
Everything is set. We move boldly forward.

The Lords of Hemp – Scene 18
INT. BENTLEY – NIGHT
A’s Bentley is returning to Oregon on a night drive. A and B are sitting in the back seat of the car tangled together. A lights a joint, takes a hit and passes it to B. She refuses.
A
You haven’t smoked the entire time you’ve been in California. Are you quitting?
B
No. It’s part of the surprise.
A
You’re pregnant.
B
Yes.
A
That’s great. I had a dream about this. I’m really happy that this is happening. I love you, and I want you to know that I will be there for you and our child until the end.
B
I know you will. I just didn’t want to say anything before the Senate Hearing. I knew you’d find out when I started showing.
A
No. Really, I’m glad that you told me. In fact it makes everything else better, it gives me more motivation. I’ve got a family to provide for.
B
The money didn’t come from drugs did it A. Please tell me all of this is going to turn out alright. I don’t want you locked in prison for the rest of my life. We’ve got to make it through this together.
A
No, of course not. I told you everything is cool. I can’t say anything until the hearing though. It’s really that important.
B
Alright then. I can leave it at that. Let’s go home then and plan our life with a child.
A
Perfect.

The Lords of Hemp – Scene 19
EXT. NEW ORLEANS DESTROYED HOMES-AFTERNOON
Brad Pitt, Angelina Jolie, and Bill Clinton stand near a ravaged house in New Orleans. The three are talking backstage before making an announcement. The press corps awaits them near a podium.
BILL
I’m really happy you guys came out today. You have both made sacrifices and contributions to this cause and I’m grateful. With your help I think we can solve this problem.
ANGELINA
Thanks Bill. I really think we are beginning to make some head way here, and the press is giving this cause its due attention, but I wonder if I may speak with you about an unrelated subject.
BILL
I was afraid of this. You want to know about A right?
ANGELINA
Well, yes. He’s got a Senate Hearing coming up that could change the world. We’ve been making progress here with Green Building as you know, but his invention, from what I’ve heard would knock the Oil Companies out of business. It would revolutionize our economy, and make way for space exploration. Is there anything we can do to help him?
BILL
I’m afraid not. It’s too far along now, and we don’t have a Democrat in the presidency yet. If he’s backing his invention with money from hemp there’s not a lot I can do. There going to treat him like a criminal. He’s got a good lawyer, he will probably find a way out of it, but his invention might not make it to the market I’m sorry to say.
BRAD
If only hemp was legal. I smoke it, Angelina smokes it, you smoke it too Bill. We all know that it’s less dangerous than alcohol, and many products can be made out of hemp. Can’t we make it legal?
BILL
I’m afraid not. It’s too much of a political liability. If a candidate were to make a case for the legalization of hemp, I think that would be the end of their career. It’s just too risky for the people with money in our country right now. However, if A can pull this off . . . If he can make a good case in front of the Senate . . . then I don’t know. Things change . . .
BRAD
Yes, things change Bill. I remember filming an Interview with a Vampire and coming to New Orleans. The city had all of its historic charm then. Now look at it. I just hope we can get it put back together.
Angelina puts her hand on Brad’s arm. She looks into his eyes with warmth.
ANGELINA
You see why I love him Bill.
BILL
I wish Hillary were here. She’s always campaigning.
GOVERNOR OF LUISIANA
Mr. President, Angelina, and Brad, thank you again for coming back to our state. When we get this place back to its brilliant luster we will always have ya’ll to thank for your efforts.
BILL
It’s nothing really. Thank you for having us, I’m sure we’re all going to pull through this together. The worst part is behind us now.
GOVERNOR OF LUISIANA
Thanks just the same. Are ya’ll ready to get out there. The press is getting hungry.
CAMERA ZOOMS OUT
We see a large crowd of people and press, the stage and our four dignitaries taking the podium together. There is a loud cheer, and some music in the back ground.
THE CAMERA MOVES THROUGH THE PEOPLE
Drum music takes over the sound. We get a psychedelic feeling. Something mixed with the magic of New Orleans, and the mystic Native American drum beat. The camera sweeps through, and moves into the woods, and to a destroyed home. It takes a long look at the rubble. There is nothing there at first. The camera moves in closer, still nothing, and then we see it, the rotting corpse of a dog next to a picture of him and his family. Flies buzz in the air.

The Lords of Hemp – Scene 20
EXT. SCENIC RIVER – AFTERNOON
We see A and his girlfriend B swimming in a mountain river. The water is clear, the sky is blue, it’s Applegate, and there are other people there. They are all friends. Playing and enjoying the summer in an out of the way place.
A
Come on babe, the water’s not cold. Honest.
B
Then why did you complain when you jumped in.
A
I was just playing.
B
Sure. I know how cold that mountain snow water is. I don’t care if it is the middle of July.
H
She’s just scared that the water will make her nipples hard.
Everyone laughs, as B blushes.
G
I’m going to jump in.
He stands on top of a boulder. Takes a couple of steps, and leaps 30 feet into the water. A swims across the river and gets out on the bank, G swims to the other side as well.
H and B stand together watching their men walk around in the wading pool on the other side of the river.
B
Are you and G going to get married?
H is deep in thought. We can hear the men laughing. A crow flies down and perches on a nearby branch.
H
I don’t know . . . You think we would. We’ve been together long enough. But I just can’t see it happening. I think we’re going to be one of those couples that looked beautiful together when they were younger, and everyone remembers them being together, and then they split apart and never saw each other again.
B
That’s depressing.
H
I think it’s more romantic that way. Are you and A going to get married?
B
Yes. And we’re going to have five kids. I just can’t see it happening any other way. I love him.
H
And he’s rich.
B just laughs. The two are old friends as well.
B
That helps . . . But I just feel like I got lucky that things turned out alright for A. You know we dated in high school. We even went to prom together. Then we broke up, and a couple of years later we wound up back together. It was one of those let it go, and if it comes back it was meant to be moments.
H
Talk about romantic.
B
That’s just the way it all worked out. I didn’t even know he was rich. He’s so secretive. He had a house when we got back together but it was modest. I’m still not sure where all the money comes from, he won’t tell me because he’s afraid the Federal Government is going to kidnap me and water board me for the information. I guess we’ll all find out where the money comes from at the Senate Hearing next week.
H
Are you going to Washington D.C. with him?
B
Yes. We’re going to make a week of it. It’s going to be fun to see all the monuments, and walk around the mall. I’m going to get a picture of us in front of the White House. I just can’t believe how cool he is. Look at us swimming at Applegate like we did in high school with the same old friends while a Senate Hearing awaits us at our Nation’s Capitol. I mean the whole countries going to be watching, the future of Corn Corporation waits in the balance, and a new technology that will free us from foreign oil might hit the market place, and here we are swimming around.
H
Are you freaking out?
B
Yes! It’s a lot of pressure. We might lose everything.
H
If you got married would you sign a pre-nup.
B
Yes. What’s that got to do with anything?
H
Then it’s not about the money. You love A.
B
Yes.
H
Then you really have nothing to worry about.
B
It looks like there coming back over here. Let’s not talk about this anymore.
H shakes her head in agreement. G and A race across the river. G wins the race and the two get out of the water. A pushes G and the two laugh.
A
You cheated. You jumped into the water first. He says with a big smile.
G
I beat you fair. You guys want to smoke a bowl.
EVERYONE EXCEPT B
Yes.
G goes to his backpack to get his supplies. A squats next to B and they kiss. G comes back over with a pipe, and a bag of weed.
G
Are you sure you can smoke this? G asks A.
A
I’m going before the Senate. I’m not getting drug tested for a job.
G
Just thought I’d ask. When are you guys leaving?
A
We’re going to DC on Tuesday. It’s going to be crazy. The press is all over this story. I’m supposed to go on CNN and speak with Larry King with my lawyer after it’s all over. We’ve got one hell of a week ahead of us.
B puts her head on his shoulder.
G loads the bowl. He hands it to A.
G
Here you go. I grew this myself. I’ve been breeding my plants. This is the best mixture I’ve gotten so far.
A
Is it Hydroponic?
G
No. I’ve just been growing it in my greenhouse with my other plants. So you think they’re going to legalize weed after all of this is through.
A
I hope so. That’s the plan anyway. It should go off without a hitch, but you never know they could just throw me in jail. They almost did after 9/11.
H
I heard about that. The FBI went into your house, and arrested you.
A
I’m just glad I have a good lawyer. I’d tell you guys more, you are my friends, but it’s better if you find out when this is done. You could still get hurt right now. In fact, I’m surprised they don’t have helicopters out here with dogs. I guess I should thank the government for giving me some time to myself.
G
As long as you go to your hearing, and don’t skip the country, I’m sure you’ll be fine.
B
I’m worried baby. What if you go away for a long time? What if they discover all your money is from drugs, and they take away your company, and your invention, and throw you in federal prison!
A
B, I told you not to worry. We’ll get through this alright, it just has to be done this way, otherwise we wouldn’t make the point we’re trying to make. It wouldn’t have the impact on society that we need to change it. You’ll find out when everyone else finds out, and it will be alright.
B
Fine.
J lights the bowl and takes a hit. He passes it to H, and exhales the smoke.
A
That is some pretty good weed G. Let me buy a pound from you.
G
I didn’t grow that much. But I can get you some don’t worry. Tonight when we go back I’ll hook you up.
A
Sounds good.

The Lords of Hemp – Start of Climatic Scene
EXT. WASHINGTON DC – AFTERNOON
The camera moves through Washington DC taking in the view of the capitol. We can hear a radio announcement from a local radio station.
RADIO ANNOUNCEMENT
It’s a warm day in Washington DC. Temperatures will stay above 100 for the remainder of the week. And the humidity is going to hover around 80 percent. Well, people have been talking about this day for a long time, and I haven’t seen this kind of buzz in the city since the Nixon impeachment. The CEO of Corn Corporation is here today to get grilled in front of a Senate Hearing that is accusing him of using illegal drugs to finance his business. And in much the same way as Dolorean in the early 80s, his company will be taken away from him.
However, unlike Dolorean, the CEO of Corn Corporation has an invention that will change the way we live, however the details are unknown. And it is this mystery that has got everyone paying attention to what is happening here today in the city. Stay tuned folks this is going to heat up.
INT. CAPITOL HILL – DAY TIME
We see what we expect to see at a Senate Hearing. A line of Senators at a table that sits above the crowd. A and his lawyers at a small table in front of them, and a large crowd of people, mostly the press.
SENATOR 1
Good afternoon J. You have been summoned before this court to explain the financial details of Corn Corporation. There have been inquiries made into your financial situation in the past that have returned without the proper information. This has led to concerns from investors, and other financial institutions, as to the value of your stock.
I’m sure you are aware of the Enron’s downfall, and its devastation on other companies, and the retirement plans of millions of Americans. Well sir, I’m here to inform you that the United States Government is concerned that Corn Corporation represents the same threat to our economy.
It is my duty, and the duty of my fellow Senators, to ensure that your company does not become a threat. We will be very carefully looking into your records, and we would like to ask you to be honest and straight forward with us.
This is not a witch hunt. This is the duty of the government to protect the citizenry. Do you understand A.
Cameras flash.
A
Yes, I understand. And I promise to be straight forward with you on all the issues that you wish to discuss here today.
SENATOR 1
Thank you A. We have made note of your willingness to be honest at this hearing, and we thank you for being here today. Now, let us begin.

Some kind of time warp thing, music, FX, whatever. Time has definitely passed. We are still in the courtroom, and people are looking sweaty and tired. A remains cool.
SENATOR 2
Well I think we’ve gone through your records for the past 15 years fairly thoroughly. You run a tight ship A. However, when things seem to clean they usually are, and so I will bluntly ask:
“Where did the money come from that kept your company operating four months ago? From everything I’ve seen the $50 million is unaccounted for . . . It just appeared like an angel from a Swiss bank account. Was that $50 million earned from the selling of illegal drugs?
The courtroom erupts. This is the climax, what everyone has been waiting for and finally it has been said plainly for everyone to hear.
There is a long pause while everyone waits for J’s response. J coughs, clearing his throat, he takes a drink of water and begins.
J
Dear Senators, much has been made in the press about my public support for hemp. And I will remind all of you here today that I smoke hemp, and I think it should be legalized. However, the $50 million that I used to support my company did not come from the sale of hemp on the black market as people have speculated.
I have records of all transactions, and bank transfers, that will show the origins of these funds down to the last penny. I submit them now to this hearing.
There is a murmur in the crowd.
SENTATOR 1
Bailiff, please collect J’s paper work and bring it before the hearing. I would like to comment for the official record that J has submitted these papers. J could you please tell us where your money came from, we will review your records later.
J
My funding came from the Taiwanese. They have a string interest in the research that I have been doing, and when I showed them the final specs of my new invention for an engine that runs on hemp ethanol and gets over a 100 miles a gallon they were more than happy to front me the money.
The court room erupts. The press corps runs out the door. Some old money tycoon yells out “God Damn It.” And Senator 1 pounds his gavel yelling “order, order, order . . .”
SENATOR 1
Do you mean to tell me there is an engine that can get 100 miles a gallon on hemp fuel? That’s preposterous! I’ve heard some whoppers in my time sir, but that is the most outrageous one in my lifetime. This hearing is going to investigate these claims. Don’t think you can come up with some headline that will vindicate you in the press. If you want to start playing games like that we can turn this into a criminal hearing. We will find your suppliers, and we will continue the war on drugs sir!
J
I respect the Senators comments. However, I believe that you will find all the information in the documents that I have made available to you today Senator.
SENATOR 1
I don’t care what information you made available today. Do you think some pothead can sit in the Senate and . . .
J INTERUPTS
Sir, we are talking about the end of America’s dependence on foreign oil. We are talking about a way to fight global climate change. If we can just legalize hemp, we can save the world, so that our children can prosper as well!
Of course Bear Heart gets off from being a terrorist because he’s Native American and Mr. Lee for drugs because he’s never done them and he’s a rich business man.
Thus we have our resolution. And the beginning of Act 3 the ending. President Obama has come to office and the Green movement is taking off. The New Millennium Project will finally be released.

Act 3
INT. J’S HOUSE – AFTERNOON
There is a large group of close friends gathered around in J’s house for a BBQ. People are laughing, and hugging, and taking pictures, but there is no sound. Only the sound of a major news network anchor.
ANCHOR
After J’s speech at the Senate last week, the American people have reacted strongly in support of repealing drug laws that make Hemp illegal in the United States. Protestors have ranged all across Washington D.C. are making a strong point that is hard for politicians to ignore. And this morning, President Bush held a hastily scheduled meeting announcing his support for legalizing Hemp.
We see a still shot of President Bush wearing a green tie, he seems to be sweating under the heat of the sun.
PRESIDENT BUSH
Fellow Americans, I’ve seen a lot of turmoil during my time in office, and never since the 9/11 attacks has there been such a turn of events as today. I am announcing the decriminalization of Hemp in America, it will be the first time since 1938 that American Farmers will be allowed legally to grow Hemp in the United States. This announcement comes after J’s speech at the Senate, and with his technology, we will be able to free ourselves from our oil addiction.
EXT. OUTSIDE DECK – EARLY EVENING
J stands next to Megan who is holding their baby. All the family and friends stand outside with a lake in the back ground.
J
I want to thank all of you for helping during these years of struggle. We have made it to the end of our fight and won. There is nothing else for us to do now. We leave the future fights to our children, and hope that we have given them the courage, wisdom, and strength to stand for the rights of humanity.

Best regards,
Cyrus Emerson
From A to Z - Vertical Vision.jpg
Steemit Blog: Contests
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07MVPT72Q?pf_rd_p=c2945051-950f-485c-b4df-15aac5223b10&pf_rd_r=JJKTKWBJWMDK97NQAVRR
Trappin in Japan – 08

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center