Parenting and Lying

Hello everybody, so another weekend has passed. I celebrated my 3 year wedding anniversary on Saturday. My parents took little one on Friday, so the wife and I could go out. The little had a blast, got to go out to eat and shop. She got a new toy and drink from starbucks.

But with the good comes the not pleasant. They were playing in the room and they thought it would be a great idea to try and walk across the toys. I was outside walking my dog when I looked up and seen through the window. So i finsihed walking my dog and went back inside. I put my dog back where she belonged then went to see the girls. I opened the door and the little was trying to fix the leg on her new toy changing table. I asked what happened and she said I don't know, keep in mind she has no idea that I saw her walking across things and that it had happened to be one of the things. So i said well are you sure its not from you walking on it. She froze then looked up and said I wasn't walking on anything. I gave her the oh really look and she continued by saying I didn't i am not lying. All i said was are you sure you don't wanna rethink that. Then she said yes I was. I said I know i saw you. We then had a talk about the lying. But Pawpaw also had a talk with both girls because they could have hurt themselves and could have broke the new toy and the old toys. I told the little that the lying needed to stop. This is not the first instent.

But after all of that I did reassure her that she wasn't a bad girl. She had said that she was a bad girl and I wanted to resure her that she wasn't a bad girl she had just made a bad descion. I also stressed to her that lying is not a good thing to do because if she had just told the truth then all that would have happened would have been don't do that you could hurt yourself. But instead had to have a long drawn out conversation about her lying.

I am not a mean and evil person. Some may like to say I am but when it comes down to it I am not. Yes, I am the disciplinarian but I give her plenty of chance to redeem herself. Like if she had been honest she wouldn't have gotten in trouble. A lot of this is because if her age and I understand that but some of it is due to other people in her life convincing her that I am an evil monster. Yes I make her behave. No I do not let her walk all over me or talk nasty to me, other would like me to but guess what not gonna happen. Just like my wife doesn't allow that type of behavior either. My wife and I are usually on the same page reguarding the little.

Well thank you for reading and I hope you enjoyed. If you have any questions or comment please leave them. If you have had similar cases please let me know your expierence and how you handled it. I also have a youtube channel that I have and will be doing videos about similar things. My youtube name is Momma Bri please go watch the videos and subscribe, only have 2 videos, right now, but plan on making more.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center