The Sourdough Experiments: Savoury Harvest Fry

IMG_20200424_074319.jpg

This here is the one I got right. Witness the horror of the one I got wrong:

IMG_20200423_194755.jpg

Let's get to the important bit - the recipe. I'll detail the mistakes afterwards.

Implements

  • Frying type surface with appropriate heat source
  • Spatula
  • Sharp blade for chopping

Ingredients

IMG_20200424_070520.jpg

  • Sourdough harvest
  • 1 button mushroom
  • 3 olives
  • Coconut oil for frying in

Instructions

  • Chop your olives and mushroom.

I had olives with the pits in [why?] and no olive pitter, so I had to improvise.

IMG_20200423_190718.jpg

Method: lay olive on stable surface. Lay knife flat on top of olive. Smash it! Smash it like you hate it. Remove pit from smooshed olive. Yay!

  • Pre-heat your frypan to just below medium heat.

Patience is my kryptonite. See the comedy of errors below for further elucidation.

  • Pour your harvest into the heated pan and sprinkle your chopped veg on top, then cover with lid.

IMG_20200424_072802.jpg

The dude in the video I watched gives his five minutes. I've found that this doesn't work so great and leaving it until about a minute past it smelling delicious is what we need. I have not timed this, but when the mushrooms look cooked, it's time to flip it.

When you think it's in danger of being burned - by all means, check it, but I'll bet you dollars to doughnots that it's still very pale. Cook that side until it's a VERY nice brown. Maybe a little bit darker than the splash photo up top.

Verdict:

Miss T and Best Beloved both like enough to predate it down to nothing so, dependent entirely on my ability to can even, I will endeavour to make pretty round snackable pancakes out of this recipe the next time.

Miss T tells me that they're better with cheese.

And now the bit I'm certain you all secretly enjoy:

Mistakes!

  1. I thought maybe mixing the savoury garnish into the harvest might make for some interesting flavour profiles. Well. I wasn't wrong.

  2. I also added to much savoury garnish in the form of nine olives and two mushrooms.

IMG_20200423_191127.jpg

  1. As mentioned previously, patience is not one of my virtues when it comes to frying things, so I poured prematurely, flipped early and, because of the aforementioned overloading of chunky bits, the whole thing lost integrity and turned into barely-edible chunky lumps.

Shame. Shame. Shame.

My ability to do anything is limited by the amount of flour I can get, so stay tuned for further whacky hijinks the next time Bread Day rolls around.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now