The Sourdough Experiments: Lazy Fry

IMG_20200410_092940.jpg

My chief influence for this is an educational video from a dude who just straight-up fries his sourdough harvests with a few li'l extras. I don't think I'll ever go with Scallions and Sesame seeds because I have an indomitable sweet tooth.

Plus it's Good Friday, so I'm not supposed to be doing too much kitchen work, according to ancient tradition. Nevertheless, sourdough starters need to be fed and groomed, so I'm using that dang harvest.

Here's what I did:

Implements

  • Containers for your harvest(s)
  • Spoons for mixing
  • Non-stick Frypan [or similar]
  • Hotplate
  • Large spatula

Ingredients

  • Sourdough starter harvest
  • 1 tbsp coconut flour [my starter harvest was very liquid, this week]
  • 2-3 tsp [or equivalent] sweetener
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil for frying each harvest

Instructions

  • Combine harvest and dry ingredients
    IMG_20200410_085202.jpg
    ...and mix well. The consistency should be a thick pancake/waffle batter. It takes its time returning to flatness after you stir it.
    IMG_20200410_085546.jpg
  • Heat the pan to medium heat [I put it a smidge too high] and add your coconut oil to the frying surface
  • Pour your harvest mix onto the pan
    IMG_20200410_091235.jpg
    At this point, it's a good idea to tilt the pan so that the hot oil helps fry the edges. Only move the pancake when it starts sliding around on its own.
  • Cook on each side for "about" four minutes
    IMG_20200410_091257.jpg
    It's very hard to guess this one since sourdough behaves differently to processed flour pancakes. I cooked mine too hot and too quickly, so they had doughy centres after the outsides were golden brown. [I gave them 2 mins in the microwave and they were fine!]
    IMG_20200410_091707.jpg
    Divide and serve as you please.

The verdict: I can see why the youtube guy does this regularly, and not just because he bakes bread every day. The pancake had just barely enough sweetness at 2 tsp of stevia, so I might attempt splitting a sachet the next time I do this. The crispy parts had a nice crunch and the rest was nicely chewy and satisfying.

Would recommend as a snack-a-bob.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now