The Sourdough Experiments: Health Muffins(tm)

IMG_20200529_072342.jpg

I woke close to midnight, last night [about 11:30PM, so just before today officially occurred] and therefore fed my starters earlier than normal. This gave me a head start on today's bread.

Life hack: make your anxiety-induced insomnia or sleeping issues work for you, not against you.

I kept the starter harvest in the fridge before I got rolling with today's experiments. But you don't want to hear about my alleged life. Let's get on with the recipe.

Please Note:

I was winging it, this time, so the measurements of dry and wet ingredients here are inaccurate. The ones I guessed at are marked with a (g). Let your heart guide you.

Instruments

  • Stand mixer, bowl, and whisk attachment
  • Muffin pans and liners
  • Baking tray
  • Spatula for scraping
  • Ladle for portioning
  • Measuring cups and spoons if you wanna
  • Handy, oven-like heat source

Ingredients

  • 3 wrinkly apples
  • 3 eggs
  • Sourdough harvest(s)
  • 1/4 cup (g) pure cream
  • 400ml (g) coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup protein flour
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup almond flour
  • 1/4 cup wholemeal spelt flour
  • 1/2 tbsp (g) vanilla essence
  • 1/2 cup (g) almond slivers
  • 5 tsp (or equivalent) sweetener
  • 1 tbsp (g) cardamom
  • 1 tbsp (g) nutmeg

Instructions

  • crack eggs into stand mixer bowl, add cream and coconut milk
  • blend together with sourdough harvest
  • add vanilla essence, sweetener, and spices
  • as they are blending, finely chop the apples, removing any bruised flesh and core parts as you go
  • add each flour, waiting until they're blended in before adding the next flour. Keep the spelt flour aside until later
  • scrape the sides regularly as you go
  • you may find it necessary to add more coconut milk if the mix gets too thick. Do so in little dribbles and wait until fully blended
  • preheat the oven to 180 Celcius or 360 Fahrenheit
  • prepare your muffin pans with liners
  • add the apple pieces and make sure they're mixed in
  • add the almond pieces and spelt flour, and mix well
  • use the ladle to pour portions of the batter into the muffin liners, filling them almost to the top
  • bake for fifty minutes or until golden brown, as pictured above

Yield: 21 muffins.

If I wanted to do this better, I would definitely use baking soda or baking powder [better bakers please inform me which one yields a better taste! I'm lost about this] and add more sweetener.

Miss T. says that they are good, but I don't know if she really approves. I tried one and -yes, they are nice and tasty. But they do need to be sweeter and may be improved by cinnamon... which I didn't have.

They may pair well with a sour cream frosting or even whipped cream on top. Your mileage may vary. Please share any of your results with me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now