Meal Prep Misadventures: Butter-fried Eggplant

IMG_20200531_122635.jpg

Meal prep involves BULK. Lots of stuff. I cooked an entire giant punnet of sliced mushrooms to accent my meals and this is another accent for flavour and texture.

There was so much stuff to do that I had to draft @triddin to do some of the cooking for me, and this is the one that he helped with.

Instruments

  • Favourite frying instruments and stirrer
  • Sharp knife
  • Large bowl

Ingredients

  • Eggplant(s)
  • Butter
  • Water and salt for the soaking stage

Instructions

  • Slice and dice your eggplants
  • Add salt to water in your bowl
  • Place the cubes in your salt water to soak

IMG_20200531_123006.jpg

This removes some bitterness from the eggplant. I was told once that they could be toxic if you don't do this, but I later learned that some people like those bitter bitter eggplants and just cook them without soaking.

  • soak for up to five hours, drain carefully
  • melt butter in frying instrument and fry up the cubes.

These also have the potential to get monotonous en masse, so use for augmenting meals rather than a staple.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now