Meet A Woman Who Built Her Own House for $20K

IMG_1732.JPG

I met @steemsilo at my first Bitcoin/Steem School KC class, and she has been one of the most active students so far.

At last week’s class, I had a chance to get to know her better, and I found out that she built her own house in Missouri for $20,000. JAW DROPS. I don't know about you, but I hardly know anyone (outside of ecovillage people) who has built their house with their own hands.

Enlight576.JPG

She is one of the most amazing, unique and self-sufficient people I’ve ever met in Kansas City. She has mad skillz and can build anything from a house to a car engine. She used to work as a car mechanic at a Toyota dealership a few years ago. Now she does many different things to earn money: fixing people’s cars, home repairs and also she gives Thai massages. Barter is also a big part of her economic life.

She wired the electrical system in her house as well and it’s safe to say that I became her student over the course of my 6 hour visit to her home, which she built out of grain bins.

Steemsilo is a very new Steemian and part of our agreement was that I introduce her to the Steemit community in order to help her gain more exposure. I agreed to give her all the SBD this generates and she was fine with me keeping the SP.

Join me as I explore @steemsilo’s fascinating hand-constructed home. She’s the freest woman I think I’ve ever met. I have a lot to learn from her.

A bit of background: Steemsilo used to work at Sprint before she built her house and removed herself from the corporate Matrix. She told me that working at a corporation didn’t really fit her, so over a period of time, she began to extricate herself, by downsizing her expenses and building her own house. She has no mortgage and very few bills. Her house has no running water or plumbing, but she’s blessed with an underground aquifer, and she gets her water from a well. She shares electricity with her parent’s house, which is just beyond a hill. Her home is heated by a wood-burning stove and insulated with spray foam.

Her parents own the land on which her house is built.

Here @steemsilo describes how it cost $20K to build her house:

And a little about how she insulated her grain bin home:

Check out her bedroom and a cool lifting mechanism that creates airflow:

And she has a cool library and extra bed on the main floor:

Enlight578.JPG

Enlight581.JPG

And I bet you were wondering what the outdoor toilet looks like. Here it is, and yes I did use it (TMI):

Enlight584.JPG

and a obligatory toilet video too:

Well, this is turning out to be like a @sweetsssj blogpost, which I am sure will be impossible to load...and yeah, I do have more photos:

Enlight580.JPG

Enlight582.JPG

Enlight587.JPG

Enlight586.JPG

Enlight588.JPG

IMG_1735.JPG

So, if you're into homesteading or just curious what's it's like to be free, using the barter system, and not having to go to a soul-crushing 9-5 job, follow @steemsilo. She is probably the freest woman in the entire state of Missouri!

Cheers,
Stellabelle

FYI: Steem School will be on Sat, Nov. 4 at 2 pm at the Opera House Cafe in the River Market. Let me know if you're able to make it. Meet cool people who are seeking their own personal freedom....that's the over-arching theme of my classes.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center