The start of the case modification for the K40 Laser cutter

Here I measure out the area that needs to be cut out

IMG_1881.JPG

Using the Air nibbler tool I start to cut out the base of the K40 laser cutter sheet metal.. It only just gets through this material so it takes some time

IMG_1882.JPG

All cut out - there is a lot of mess - Those metal ring cut thingos get everywhere.

IMG_1884.JPG

I need to make room to work, so I start to remove the inside guts of the laser cutter

IMG_1885.JPG

All that remains is the control board and a few wires

IMG_1886.JPG

Here is a 1000mm x 500mm sheet of 3mm aluminium flat sheet that was bought and cut at paramount browns earlier today (see previous blog post)

IMG_1887.JPG

I put the laser cutter down on the aluminium sheet where I want it - center of the sheet - and then draw out where the hole needs to be cut out of the sheet

IMG_1888.JPG

As we can see here there is 95mm on each side sticking out - this is intentional.

IMG_1889.JPG

So using a 260mm by 240mm aluminium sheet that was also cut earlier, I then neaten up the lines marked on the main sheet

IMG_1890.JPG

As you can see here, I drilled a 20mm hole in one of the corners in the hope that I could use the air nibbler. Unfortunately the 3mm is too thick for that.. So I bust out the dremel tool and try to start cutting. Turns out it was useless. Being a softer material, the cutting disk caught and there wasn't enough torque in the dremel tool to overcome this.

IMG_1891.JPG

So I tried with my angle grinder with a cutting disk. I only had half a cutting disk left after a previous job so I only managed to cut a little bit before this disk was worn out.

IMG_1892.JPG

A quick 30 minute trip to Bunnings in the rain let me pick up another 12 cutting disks in a handy dandy container!

IMG_1894.JPG

Installed the cutting disk onto the angle grinder

IMG_1895.JPG

Cut out the hole. As you can see saftey was paramount and the work piece was secured correctly before using the cutting wheel......... OK don't do what I did here.. ever. I used my wheely bin as a make shift table. You can see the apprentice marks all over this as a result... also, it didn't help with making a straight cut.. oh well

I cleaned up the edges with a sanding flap disk on the angle grinder

IMG_1896.JPG

Here I am installing the legs to the bottom of the sheet.

IMG_1899.JPG

The legs are secured with 4mm screws and nuts

IMG_1901.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center