Supplemental Labor Day Photolog

Nikiski Beach AKA - Salamatof Beach

          Likely one of the best beaches on the Kenai Peninsula for agate hunting, but there are a lot of other things on the beach to be found. Nikiski beach was one of our stops on Friday. We did not stay long because of the wind, but did get a few, "different" type of pictures.

037 loading pier and wave.jpg

          This is one of the loading piers from one of the refineries. I tried to get a stop action shot of the wave, it came out sort of okay, but I feel it could have been better.

046 nikiski beach drift wood.jpg

          This is the view looking back up the gravel to the entry point for the beach, you can see a lot of drift wood and tree stumps at the high tide line, (slightly above it due to the storm surge from a few days ago when it was super windy).

044 8-31 nikiski beach just a red rock.jpg

          Just a small red rock in the beach gravel, I did not find an agate to take a picture of.

          I like this next piece of drift wood, to me it looks like a horse and had an interesting shape so I took "it's" picture.

049 8-31 nikiski beach drift horse.jpg

          Not a lot of seaweed on this beach, but we do get more than just rocks and driftwood. Here one of our fine feathered friends lost a feather, likely a seagull.

047 8-31 nikiski beach a feather floated in.jpg

You can visit the primary labor day photolog here: My Labor Day Weekend Photolog so Far, it is located on my primary page @bashadow.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now