Out of curiosity, why must one have a university or technical degree?

https://steemit.com/@josephlwiess posed me the following interesting and provocative question that is going to generate a lot of heat and friction, an which I am going to attempt to respond, item by item.

Out of curiosity, why must one have a university or technical degree?


"In my experience (having both a university and a technical degree) those aren't any indication that a person can do the job. It just means that they have book knowledge. If I were an employer, I would want to know work background, if they could do the job, if they had debts (due to college loans, etc.,) if they show up to work, and if they'll work hard to grow my business."

JMORA ANSWER: In the USA I have seeing that they do not care much about having a degree. In fact, the only time I was fired, was by a non professional who happen to be a manager: I was fired because he sensed I didn´t want to give power and perceived me as non compliance to his orders, and some performances issues. But that is history.

  • What I am going to say reflects my view of the world, based upon my own experience, not books. Although I was born as Peasant, I made my way up in society by studying very hard until I became bright enough that even Columbia Engineering School in the City of New York, took me as transfer student back in 1979.

  • Having studied Physical Science, Engineering & Math, I cannot understand how a person without studies can understand physical and engineering principles. Or even Accounting, to mention a non hard field.

  • Having a Degree is part of the Equation. A lot of people have a degree but the University went through them. Not the other way around. They know nothing. Some even have empty brains, or "Descerebrados" as I called them.

  • Theoretical Knowledge the world view is limited. I understand experience is a source of knowledge too, but I am one of those Managers who like and expect Theoretical Knowledge, Accumulated Experience and Performance Track Records. In my view a person needs both. And if you are a recent graduate, then I do expect Knowledge and certain Personality Traits that gives me indication that the investment will not be lost. I do expect clear definition of what the person is and what he wants to do in life and in his career.


"*My current career is almost 180 degrees from what I went to college (both times) for, I run the kitchen in a Texas Correctional Facility, when my degrees were in Computer Science and Radiology*."

JMORA ANSWER: That is nomal. That happens to a lot of people. Once has to work to survive. In my findings about 80% to 90% of people is not clearly defined about what they want in their careers, since they end up working where they got their first job. Happened to me. But once you make a decision, one should keep centered and not let Companies Play Chess with your and your Life.

I have always been in command of my life and my destiny and I have never delegated that duty to anyone. The main problem I see is that people centered their mind around themselves and never take into consideration markets and their dynamics.

And boy, here the Career Counselor have a debt with society since most of them fail to give good guidance to students, and hence they end up as leaves floating in a river or as seeds floating in the air.


"*All those degrees got me, were an extra pay grade at the beginning, an extra pay grade that people with military experience also received.*"

I was never aware of Grades until I started to work. My First Job back in 1981 was about Market Supply & Demand, and that year I understood I was going to be an unemployed all my life if I didn`t make the right decision. Based on my previos background, I choose Human Resources as the Field in which I will concentrate for the rest of my life and establish an objective: Be HR Director by 1990, thing which I achieved in 1992. The Whole point here is that one has to walk up the organizational layers of grades. If you just stay in one grade, you go no where. But People is not used to weight their jobs, nor have the knowledge to do such a thing.

If one were able to draw a graph of grades over time, then one would see that the line is FLAT. Second derivate is = 0.


"*Maybe, because of experience, I have considered the degrees to be just another piece of paper.*" They are. But they are proof you did train your brain and that you make an effort to improved yourself as oppossed to others who did nothing about it. It proves Performance and intention to achieve.
"*Which leads to the question, why would employers want theoretical knowledge, as opposed to actual hands on working knowledge?*"

JMORA ANSWER: Employee with Theoretical Knowledge only if they are young and recent graduates so that the companies can train them, and in a distant future they can make a return on their investment. I will not invest in people who have wasted 20 years of his/her life. In that case, I do prefer people in their twenties.

Regarding weather to ask for hard core experience it will depend on the type of industry and Job. If in doubt take a look a some countries with Presidents without formal education and tell me where they are going, or take a look at some industries where politics and populism have taken over education.

In fact the lack of education is the root of all society problems: Freedom depends on Education. If you educate people or people became educated with a "Paper" they will be less subject to ideological manipulations, weather be politics, or religion.

I FULLY BELIEVE EDUCATION IS THE ONLY VIABLE WAY TO GIVE FREEDOM TO PEOPLE. GOVERNMENTS SHOULD INVEST MORE ON EDUCATION TO THEIR PEOPLE. and I mean real education, NOT IDEOLOGIES

Resteem this Post to your Followers and get paid (Followers/10000)x(CountryWeight)/SteemValue after you report in a comment your reshare

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center