Phoenix Design Contest Entry

these are my entries for Jerry Banfield's Phoenix Design Contest

entries.jpg


THE PROCESS

first, I sketched a lot of birds and picked the ones that I like.
skts concept.jpg
skts 1.jpg

after finalizing the design, I ink it on paper and scanned it.
1 scanned.jpg


next, I'm going to separate the line drawing from the white background, but before that, I adjusted the LEVELS of the drawing by pressing CTRL+L.
2 levels.jpg


after that, I go to channels and CTRL+ click the RGB layer. this will make a selection on the line drawing.
4 channelsRGB.jpg


go back to the layers palette and add a new layer and fill it with black.
5 add new layer and paint.jpg


now I have the line separated. I added a new layer under the line layer and fill it with white.
6 line separated.jpg


next, I'm going to paint a flat color under the line drawing layer. I use the wand tool and I click anywhere outside the line drawing's layer (or the negative space) and it will create a selection. then I inverted the selection by pressing CTRL+SHIFT+I.
7 wand.jpg


and fill it with yellow.
b2.jpg


I added red and orange and little details
c2.jpg

here, I changed the color of the outline to light yellow.
d2.jpg


usually, the Phoenix have a long tail feather so I go back to my drawing table and draw the half of the tail, scanned and paint it.
e2.jpg


here, I duplicate the right wing and tail, I flipped it and put it on the left side. I use the line to align and center the Phoenix.
f.jpg


HERE'S THE FINISHED PRODUCT

Phoenix Design #1

version 1
finix red ver 1.jpg

fenix ver 1 final tshirt_PNG5448.jpg


version 2
finix red ver 2.jpg

finix ver 2 final tshirt_PNG5448.jpg


version 3
finix red ver 3.jpg

fenix ver 3 final tshirt_PNG5448.jpg


Phoenix Design #2

like the first Phoenix Design, I applied the same process here
process.jpg

version 1
done.jpg

v1 tshirt_PNG5448.jpg

version 2
version 2.jpg

v2 tshirt_PNG5448.jpg


Phoenix Design #3

process.jpg

done.jpg

tshirt_PNG5448.jpg

.....and that's it. thanks for stopping by.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center