My first DTube video: Custom MIDI control mappings to the JD-XI using SYSEX

I've just uploaded my first DTube video :) YaY !

So about the video: It's a tutorial for those who want to learn a few basics on system exclusive (SYSEX) and how to control some parts of the Roland JD-XI synthesizer which is usually only accessible via "menu diving".

The JD-XI is actually an amazing synth for the price. You get 4 parts: 2 digital, 1 drum and 1 fully analog synth. All of these can be manipulated via SYSEX messages.

In the video I've used a Roland A-500 PRO MIDI controller keyboard. You could use anything that supports the transmission of SYSEX.

I also go over how to read Roland MIDI implementation documents. I know a lot of people don't understand these - but with a bit of effort, they're actually pretty easy to read :)

Let me know what you think - and hope this is the start of many more DTube vids :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center