A different perspective on Jacob Walter Anderson

If you look at any newsfeed today, you would see the news about Jacob Walter Anderson. In summary: Jacob Walter Anderson, ex-Baylor fraternity president, accused rapist, 3 years probation, $400 fine, no jail time, no sex offender registry.

Link: https://www.cnn.com/videos/us/2018/12/11/baylor-sex-assaut-plea-deal-orig-vstop-bdk.cnn

Like most of the people, when I first saw this on my Facebook newsfeed, I had the “WTF” reaction. I then went on to read the comments from all the angry people for about 5 minutes. Then I stopped and think about how/why this came about. Was it because the defendant is white, male and rich? Was it our corrupted legal system? Or maybe he’s INNOCENT?! I don’t know.

The point I am trying to make it.. people can be so easily manipulated and influenced by news media outlet and other people..

I wanted to share another perspective to Jacob Walter Anderson case – from a person who claimed they were there at the party that night – to help you see another perspective as well:

I’m writing this here because it is just about the only place I can remain anonymous and still say what I need to say. Every single person I have seen comment on this development in the case (whether it be on Twitter, Facebook, Reddit, etc.) has condemned Jacob and the legal system for basically giving him a slap on the wrist. Every single one of those people were not only not there that night but they also didn’t know Jacob or the victim. I was there that night and I knew him (albeit not very well). NOTHING happened the way that they said it did. I won’t get into any details because they aren’t mine to share but I urge you all to hold off on the witch hunt until any actual evidence comes out. Let me remind everyone that the alleged perpetrator and alleged victim claimed to remember nothing of the night so all of the stories being told a hearsay. We are moving to a point in our country where an accusation is just as bad as a conviction. Mob mentality is enticing but dangerous.

I’m forming an opinion based on the information I know. You and every other person bashing him are basing your opinions off a couple news articles written by people who don’t know what happened either. Let me ask you this, if they were both so completely drunk that they don’t remember the night (which is what the articles say), where is this narrative coming from? I haven’t heard one article mention someone who was an eye witness or even a reliable source of information. We are hearing the worst nightmare of a mother who can only imagine what must of left her daughter in such bad shape. Also, I don’t blame her at all. I feel nothing but sorrow for her situation because I don’t think she intended to lie at all. I think she was coerced into following a narrative by her friends and family that she knew she couldn’t back up. I believe the victim but I can promise you that the “quotes” you’ve been hearing from her haven’t been her words. I despise all forms of sexual assault and acknowledge that our broke system has failed countless women (and men) who have gone to them for help. But not every accusation is a conviction. I’m getting the feeling that you would prefer that it was though.

Read more here: https://www.reddit.com/r/baylor/comments/9on31q/former_baylor_fraternity_president_jacob_anderson/e7x5tye/?context=3

Connect with Emylee Thai:
Email: emylee@orionmodern.com
LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/emyleethai/
Personal: www.emyleethai.com
Company: www.orionmodern.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center