The Pros and Cons of being a Proactive Home Internet User

Shaw Canada is Supplying Me with their 600 mb/s Fiber Optic Connection

WeMine Canada is Also on Shaw

I began by simply setting up my business internet for a Zcash Mining Facility located in Central Alberta. Shaw has the least down time compared to competition so it's a logical decision to use their service with any online data processing business.

I more recently moved and inquired with Shaw about home internet options I could add onto my account. They were pleased to offer the 300mb/s package they have, but I have nerd rage that lays dormant a sleeping Kraken and I wont risk my reaction to lag in a Gears of War match or waiting to watch South Park, so naturally I asked for the fastest speed they offer. To my surprise it was only $92 per month if you signed for 2 years, and I have no problem with a 600mb/s line for 2 years.

Now after this extensive conversation about bandwidth and latency expectations, yes I even tried to get him to put it on paper that my latency shouldn't be above xx, but they dont guarantee that as usual... The shaw IT phone guy advised me they would be sending a senior technician to see me because of my overly complex interests that a normal technician wouldnt have answers to.

I am happy to be receiving the premium skilled tradesman, trust me, I am grateful. At the same time though, it really makes me want to get a job in IT because if shaw is paying dipshits $20 an hour to basically plug in ethernet cables and not understand jack shit about IP configuration or routing, theres a job for every single person who has ever reset a router. Do you have skills? Oh fuck yeah buddy, I reset the shit out of a router once. YOURE HIRED????

image

So looks like I am waiting for nearly 2 weeks to have my internet hooked up and that is the longest time I have ever been asked to wait for internet. Settling for normal service may actually end up being more streamlined as skilled labour is a more scarce commodity.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now