my god score

INTJs are the least likely group of introverts to align themselves with a religion. I know I’m not the only INTJ that has faith because I have a group of dear friends that are prayer warriors at my side. We are a modest sized group. Crowds don’t suit us.

Churches are wonderful after the crowds have dispersed. I tend to listen to sermons online (less distraction and I can loop the sermon.) I attend services when visiting family and friends and I like joining the occasional women’s Bible study. But the thought of having to interface with strangers and oblige shaking hands or hugging is extremely repugnant to me. Enter a church any other day of the week, you won’t be the only person visiting. These “other day” faith community persons are always welcoming but also allow you to have your quiet time.

Really, I’m a nice person. I just think about germs more than the next person. I’m friendly AND you will feel snubbed if you try to touch me. I save my affections for people I know very well.

I made a new friend recently and he asked me when I came to Christ. I didn’t have a dramatic testimony. I’ve been raised in a faith centered family and community all my life. I’ve taught and led ministries. I can’t say I was saved from a gangster life or that I had hit rock bottom from a down spiraling lifestyle. When he asked what church I attended, I listed the ones I attend with family and friends or listened to sermons online. I sense that since I’m not like him or others that he is accustomed to, he might be thinking that he needs to save my soul.

I love that there are many houses of God to pray at. These buildings are valuable not only for their architectural beauty but for the community of people who strive to improve their lives and be a comfort and friend to their community and bring positive impact to the world. I practically lived in church during my childhood. I was there at least three times a week. It was a safe place to grow up under watchful and caring eyes. Do you know what it’s like to go to the beach with nuns? I do. I did not have a bad experience. When I hit my teens and wanted to attend a Baptist church to hang out with new friends, I didn’t get grief. I was supported on my spiritual journey.

My journey is quieter now. As I got older, I preferred my Bible studies. The socializing aspects of church exhausted me. As a single woman, I felt constantly reminded that I was single and that something was wrong and that prayer would remedy my solitude.

I am happy with my life and with my relationship with God that it’s annoying being told I shouldn’t be happy. So, I enjoy church after the people leave and I listen to sermons online. I’ve found bliss and I oftentimes praise God and say Amen while alone.

A: “Aren’t you angry with God that you’re not married yet?”

What kind of question is that???

JNET: “Goodness, no. I love my life. Everything in God’s time.”

My new friend is tallying up my God score and wishing he knew how to categorize me. I wish I felt more like a person than a project. Oh well. He means well and he hasn’t done anything that’s called for admonishing. I’m only hopeful that he gets to know me before labeling me. It’s a people idiosyncrasy, needing to label something before moving forward.

It’s a miracle anything gets done. ☺️

I know what team I’m on and I know God knows whose team I’m in.

I feel blessed even though a relative stranger is tallying up my spiritual value.

Know your value and know that God loves you without a doubt. No one on this planet can pull you off center.

JNET

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now