Ginhawa: The art of wellbeing “Pa(g)hinga”

I understand deeply the meaning of Ginhawa (wellbeing) through the Center for Babaylan Studies. I heard it first in “kultivating Kapwa” podcast with Leny Strobel (Auntie Leny as they call her, asa respect for elder).

Ginhawa is very meaningful for me, a word originated from Cebu Philippines means breath (paghinga) in Cebuano.

This is one of decolonization practices during the pandemic, this is part of the elements of care that launch by CFBS (Center for Babaylan Studies). Having an interest in Indigenous Psychology, I search for the deeper meaning and the used of this word through living (pagsasabuhay), movement (daloy) and embodiment of spirit (lagyo).

I named my journaling practices after the word ginhawa, to embody the wellbeing (paghinga). I do journaling when I learn how to write poetry in free verse (malayang tula), I used to oit when I am in the formation house during my missionary days in Sienna College.

It becomes my safe space every time, I remember my life outside the formation program, my family and friends. My faith also become deeper in my every day journaling practices and my devotion.

Growing up I have low self esteem, I cannot express myself and feelings.

I was bullied and turns out bully. but the experience of being bullied left me a trauma.

One day, all of is I learn to tell through art. I’become in love with the process of creating. Its been therapeutic. No one saw you. You cannot commit mistake. I am creating what I feel I am happy about. This is my world. I believe soul is in the flow when I experiencing it.

That is why I created this space as my space to breathe (Makahinga), and rest (Makapagpahinga).

I want to share this art with you. The art of wellbeing “Pa(g)hinga”

IMG_5401.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now