omegarunner Introduction and After-Thoughts

Hello, I'm a brand new user and this is my introduction. So, I don't really do online introductions all that often, not even on my main blog which I'll get to in a bit so I'm not entirely certain how to introduce myself, especially since I want to maintain some level of privacy.

Currently, I'm a young college student who's working on becoming a video game designer. I actually have a game in the works that I'm working on right now but I want to keep that a bit of a secret until I'm ready for the project to be revealed but, just for some clarifications, it's going to be an indie game, a character action game, and one that I'm expecting to fund on Kickstarter.

I'm pretty young at just under 23 years old but I'm intent on growing fast, at least on a personal level. Currently, I have a blog called After-Thought Reviews, which I initially created as a sort of blog for reviewing video games and anime but, over time, it became just a blog where I post my opinions on subjects related to video games and anime.

So, let's take a look at it.

Verification.PNG

So there are a few different post series in here, I'll just list them briefly and talk about what they are and why they exist. These individual series are Best Fighter, Which Hatsu Type, After-Thoughts Rant, After-Thoughts Short, and at the very bottom After-Thoughts Impression. These are in order of how recently they were posted and I went pretty far back to show these in particular so I'm going to start from the bottom since those came first technically.

After-Thoughts Impression is a series where I give my thoughts on a game after playing it for around 1-3 hours. This seems like a reasonable time span for a first impression and the reason I do that is because playing a game 1-3 hours for a first impression is a lot less taxing than playing a game to completion in order to do a full blown review. To this day, the only game review I've ever done was my first blog post and was on the PS2 video game Dragon Ball Z: Budokai 3. This particular impression on I-Ninja was prompted when my currently ex-girlfriend recommended this game for me when I told her I wanted to go back and play some PS2 games, since modern day console and PC games just aren't interesting for me anymore.

After-Thoughts Short isn't as much a series as it is just a title for an After-Thoughts post where I want to talk about something but don't have a lot to say on the matter. Pretty self-explanatory. After-Thoughts Rant was my most common post type for a while, as it's generally easier for me to be passionate about a topic rather than try to be dignified. That said, I've since switched over to a series called After-Thoughts where I talk about a topic after everyone is finished talking about it to give my thoughts on the matter in a retrospective and more professional way.

The remaining two are the most recent series and also my two smallest series. Best Fighter is a hypothetical series where I compare two fictional characters in terms of battle capacity, inspired somewhat by Screw Attack's Death Battle but the structure is much more similar to the Versus Series by Antoine Bandelle on Youtube, which is where I got the most inspiration. Currently, I only have three best fighter posts, Cloud vs. Ryu from Final Fantasy VII and Ninja Gaiden respectively, Tifa vs. Ayane from Final Fantasy VII again and Dead or Alive respectively, and Gon Freecss vs. Izuku Midoriya from Hunter X Hunter and My Hero Academia respectively.

And lastly is Which Hatsu Type, which is a series where I try to determine how any given fictional character's abilities would fit within the confines of Hunter X Hunter's power system known as Nen. The one currently on display is for Team RWBY, which is the entire team within the RWBY series by Rooster Teeth but I also have some on Hiei from YuYu Hakusho, Rob Lucci from One Piece, Naruto Uzumaki from Naruto, and Shoto Todoroki from My Hero Academia. The one on Hiei was the first one because, YuYu Hakusho and Hunter X Hunter were both created by Yoshihiro Togashi so I thought it would make sense to make the first one from one of his series.

I'm sure many of you can guess what kind of stuff I like based on this blog and based on the series listed here so far.

So I guess one of the questions I have to answer is, why am I here? Well, to be honest, this is just an experiment to try some things. First, I want to start moving some of my blog posts from the one on Blogger and Blogspot.com over to here to see if I can get some more viewers and more comments to see where it goes. As you can tell by the screenshot I've gotten no comments so far and my average viewership per post is usually within the single digits to low double digits. The only exception is my post on NieR: Automata, which currently has 43 views.

I also want to see where the cryptocurrency thing goes and see if I have any potential to earn anything with my current setup. I tried getting my blog monetized through google's adsense but it never got approved. If there isn't any revenue in it here, that's fine, but increased viewership and revenue are a pretty nice reason to move over here from blogger completely.

The next question is, what do I plan on posting here? Well, firstly, I want to repost some of my old blog posts here so that some of my older but still currently held thoughts can have proper discussions and be subject to critique but I also plan on posting new stuff as it's written. Currently, I'm averaging about 1 post per week but that's not intentional, I really only ever post when I have something I want to talk about and it just so happens that I average about 4-5 days apart for each one.

And finally, I want to see if I can build an audience that's interested in video games that might be willing to play any game I eventually make and release.

One more question to answer is, how long will I be sticking around? Well, that depends on the next month or so. I don't think I'll ever delete the account but, if things go well in terms of viewership and earnings, I'll probably be fairly active for a while. If things don't change much or I have a high negative backlash, I may not see much of a reason to stick around.

So I think I'll start tomorrow. I'll start writing a post that's brand new and that's not even on the blogger post yet and see how that goes. For a link to my current blog if you're interested, here it is:

https://afterthoughtreviews.blogspot.com/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center