Hello! From 0 to gamedev

Hello!
My name is Marcin, I’m starting this blog to document my progress in learning programming.

I wanted to start programming a few years ago, I even bought a few books and 2D engine (the Gamemaker program) but of course nothing came out of it.
Now I have more free time that I want to use to study.

raylib.png

What is the purpose of this?
I'm interested in writing games, maybe some small GUI applications.
I'm not interested in developing myself as a professional (it's too late for that), I just want to write a game and upload to Steam. Maybe start small indie studio.

At the moment I'm starting with almost zero knowledge, well I can tell the difference between a function and a motorbike (but not betwen class and a garage) and I know that Godot is too difficult ;) So I chose Python, Raylib, and Gamemaker Studio 2 to start my adventure. I've read one Python book in the last few days (Learn Python 3 the Hard Way, I don't recommend, you better buy a Christmas tree... in May), I've gone through a few courses (I know I can do anything but I don't know how), I've written a few simple functions (half of them even work), and I have no idea if what I want to do is possible for me or not.

gms2.png

So I'm starting my adventure, from zero to indie game developer wish me luck, I'm going to need it....

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments