MY WRITING JOURNEY

pexels-daniel-edeke-2113709.jpg

Hey Guys! It's awesome to meet with you

This is a brief introduction on how my writing career started. Any way, a part of the story!.

And P.S: the boy on dreadlocks isn't me. I couldn't lay hold on my baby picture and that picture came close to it.

Screenshot_20210824-103959_Opera Mini.jpg

I was born in the western part of Nigeria. Lagos precisely. It was a small city that buzzed alot with people. The city was so small, that you felt that the crowd within could one day topple it down. In the late 90's it was more fun to be in the city.
It once boasted of being the pride of the country, cause at one time it stood as the Nation's capital. That was quite a time ago but you could still feel the breath on it. Lagosians, that is the people that lived in Lagos, are quite different. They weren't like other Nigerians. Lagos was like the land of hope. It was assumed a pauper could come in and become wealthy over-night. Lagos was the place to fulfil the 'Nigeria dream' surely.

In Lagos, there was a sharp difference between the 'haves' and 'have not'. There was Island and Mainland. The rich folks stayed up at the Island. But you still saw the glow in every one's eyes as they did their work. The rivalry and competition was low. Everyone had the aura of 'I can make it'.
My story starts in Lagos. It couldn't have been otherwise.

I still remember the moon shone differently too. And the sky were dream-like. We would stay up at night, telling moon stories. My family then was all I had.
There was this 'dogoyaro' tree opposite our house that gave this cynical look. I could stare at it all day and beautiful stories will fill my mind.

On Starry nights, I'll think of my love far away, perhaps in the North and what she will be doing. Will she be thinking of the future me and creating magic in her head too?.
Lagos smelled like nutmeg and I loved it!.

(to be continued...)

Follow me on [LinkedIn] (https://www.linkedin.com/in/tochukwu-daniel-747ba7109)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center