Introducing myself: @ponyvet (spoiler alert: I'm an animal lover. Shocking!)

Hello Steemit World! @daddykirbs inspired me to share on here, so blame him for spamming the internet with my horses!

My name is Kat (I use "Rider" as my last name on line for various reasons...if you need to know my real last name message me) and you can probably guess by my handle @ponyvet, I'm an actual horse vet (mostly retired due to health issues but yes, fully licensed and also certified in Acupuncture and Traditional Chinese Vet Medicine). You can also find me on instagram under pony_vet.

20180130_121117.jpg

My main hobby is horses. I currently own 2 Canadian Warmbloods. My mare Tara (with the green bonnet) turns 16 this year (I bought her as an untrained 2yo out of a field), her son Kegger (black bonnet) turns 6, both are over 17hh tall. FB_IMG_1517374896253.jpg I'm on Kegger, Tara is being ridden by my friend Jenn who also part-boards her. Having tall horses = having tall friends ;)

I mostly ride English (specifically classical dressage) but despite being "bred to the nines" for traditional dressage, Kegger showed a lot of promise early on as a Western horse. So we're doing both!

FB_IMG_1512872683162.jpg Kegger and I at our 1st show last summer (he was born on Victoria day aka the May 2-4 weekend, hence the beer reference!)

I board my horses out at a friend's farm and help with their (our?) Growing menagerie. As well as the horses/ponies (currently 5, soon to be 6!) there's the infamous Fabian (world's most patient llama) and 2 ewes (Pheobe and Tippy who are expecting lambs in April). All 3 are beyond spoiled and basically have the run of the place.
FB_IMG_1517374734246.jpgFB_IMG_1517374919701.jpg

Then there's my side kick and constant shadow...Boomer! He's a red CKC registered Standard Poodle and is quite the character. Not the most practical breed to have around the farm but don't tell him that! FB_IMG_1498694997521.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now