Where do I come from - according to my genes

I am born in Sweden. My parents where also born in Sweden, and their parents, and so on. I thought. But to find out more about my ancestors I recently took a genetic test. When the answer finally came (took a really long time) it was an exciting moment. The e-mail came late att night and after a short hesitation I opened it. Most of it was what I expected, a lot of Scandinavian heritage, mixed with a bit of eastern Europe and northern Europe. And the big surprice. About 1,5 % of my genes can be traced to Pashtun and Tuscany respectively. How? When? Who? What happened? Why was not the story preserved in the families?

I hope to someday be able to find out more. One thing I know already is that taking the test made me feel more connected to the world. We are all related to each other!

image

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center