Hello Steemit! I'm David from Malaysia! -- I'm a Coast Guardsman. Saving Lives at sea is my job. Come on in and read my story.

DSC05416.JPG

Hi fellow Steemian. My name is David Yong. I'm 30. I am from this little island of Borneo which currently known as Sabah. This is my first post and also my #introduceyourself post. I am a Maritime Rescuer in the coast guard. Saving people lives is my main priority in my job and I am passionate about it. Being out at sea for rescue missions is always very challenging. The sea is always choppy and unforgiving. Because that is the time when people have difficulties. I have saved lives from shipwrecks, sending medical aids to the needy, towing a sailing ship back to the shore, etc. I have never seen such relief on the faces of anyone in my life as I did when we arrived to rescue the people. That emotion is just beyond words. No other job in the world would give you this type of satisfaction. Being a rescuer in the coast guard is probably one of the best jobs in the world and I am lucky to be part this adventure.

IMG_20160705_091214_1.jpg

Me and my buddy were on duty patrolling the sea in Langkawi island waters, Northern Peninsula Malaysia.

IMG_20160725_194010.jpg

I am so lucky to be able to see such beautiful sunset in the sea. I guess this is part of the reward being a Coast Guardsman. You always get to see beautiful natures.

IMG_20160725_181755.jpg

I always wanted to become a Journalist when I was younger. I love to see different people and their cultures. I wanted to document them and share it with people. I love real stories that inspire people.

14.jpg

Recently I also picked up photography and started to learn more about it. I always carry a small pocketable camera with me. I will pull it out and shoot whenever there is an opportunity.

WhatsApp Image 2017-07-02 at 7.30.03 PM.jpeg

I wanted to make short films about my job and my missions at sea. I want these stories to inspire people to love themselves and not take their lives for granted.

12.jpg

Since the arrival of social networks and micro-blogging has become the future of journalism, I guess Steemit is the prefect place to share my stories and help me reach my goal.

IMG_7577.JPG

Thanks for reading. I hope you like my first story. Shoutout to @sweetsssj for bringing me to this platform. I will share more stories and my other interests in the coming posts. So stay tuned and follow me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center