Well, here I am!

Hi,
My name is Leonie, I'm an illustrator/ sculptor based in West Yorkshire, UK.

screenshot_20220126_150758_samsung_internet.jpg

Art and creativity form basically 90% of my existence, hence the username Sellotape Kid (a nickname my parents gave me when I was little).

I'm currently working in the scary and unpredictable world of freelance art which, let me tell you, nothing prepares you for! Well maybe business school would have but where would the fun in that be?

My artwork is mainly character driven, I know this may sound really cliché but I love to make whimsical little things that make people smile. I have my own mental health battles so I tend to take all my negative emotion and channel it into something lighthearted and positive because that's the kind of place I wish the world could be.

screenshot_20220126_150639_samsung_internet.jpg

Some of my fondest memories are of sitting and drawing with my Grandad, he had these big out of date journals that seemed ginormous in my hands and it felt like such a huge privilege to be able to draw in them. He had such a beautiful and warm soul that always enveloped me in a sense of belonging. That's the kind of vibe I want my artwork to put out into the world.

screenshot_20220126_150712_samsung_internet.jpg

Yes. I'm essentially a walking cliché I know. Haha!

Other than that I am a big ol' geek, I love animated films/ media, anime, gaming and reading. All of which influence my artwork.

My good friend @letothehobbit recommended I start a blog here: thought you guys might be interested in my many different projects (because there's never just one creative project rattling round my head).

So if creativity is your thing then this blog is probably mostly going to be artwork related, maybe some personal struggles or revelations thrown in for good measure! I'm hoping to start a fairly big commission soon so maybe we can journey through that together too?

Let me know what you think.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
32 Comments
Ecency