I've just arrived here - is this an old blogger's paradise?

G'day,

This is me:

Peter_Twitter.jpg

I'm from Australia - but you've probably already guessed that. Sydney to be specific.

As you can see I've been around for a while. I've been working with computers and the internet since before there was an internet and computers ran on punched cards and magnetic tape.

For the last few years, I've mainly been working on blogs - designing, building and writing. I've posted about two and half thousand substantial articles around the 'net. A thousand or so people look at my stuff each day.

I've mostly been writing about renewable energy, local and family history, and sometimes about antiques. If you're interested, these are some of my sites:

For a while, I've been looking for somewhere to post articles which don't fit my regular sites. Somewhere with a sense of community and somewhere that encourages meaningful discussion - not just 140 character outbursts or verbal selfies.

Recently I got interested in this blockchain thing. I'd read about it but wanted some hands-on experience and somewhere I could ask questions.

In my reading, I came across Steemit - a blogging platform, a community, meaningful discussion, blockchain - perfect!

And on top of that, you can earn money by participating - better than perfect!

I expect to be focusing on science and technology with a dash of history and maybe some unique local flavour. But now that I've had a bit of a look around, a lot of the articles seem inwardly focused - Steemians either talking about Steem and crypto or about themselves. (Okay, I'm guilty but just this once.) Is my impression wrong?

If Steemit's going to achieve its potential, we need to reach out to a wide audience. Anyhow that's what I hope to do. What do you think is the best way do that?

Let's talk about it.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center