Greetings esteemed Steemians! @sunvaar invited me.

3-9-18.jpg

I'll be posting my artwork and sharing my behind-the-scenes creative processes.

My name is Paul Petersen. I'm a 68 year old artist who has had a variety of art-related jobs.
I've been a sign painter, an advertising art director, a storyboard artist, an equine watercolorist, and a medical illustrator. My latest passion is creating geometric abstract digital art.

My user name, spherical art, is a phrase I use to describe a particular method of generating digital art via three dimensional spheres and a virtual camera. I'll be posting my artwork and sharing details on how it's created.

1-10-17-6b.jpg
This art was previously posted on my Instagram, Twitter, and Flickr pages. Links are below.

Other topics that interest me:

  • Photoshop
  • motion graphics with After Effects,
  • running,
  • yoga,
  • fiction and poetry,
  • nature walks,
  • stained glass
  • golf
  • gardening
  • and baking (I'll post about the pies my mother taught me to make!)

AnniversarySM.jpg

I'm married to Jean and live in rural Pennsylvania. I have two grown children and three grandkids. We have three dogs - Bouviers, that we treat like kids.

IMG_0611.jpg

I grew up in Compton, California. I got my start in art by tracing. With six brothers and two sisters, finding an unspoiled coloring book was really difficult when I was five!
Me at age 5sm.jpg
So when I finally got a new one, I was afraid to color in it. I wanted it to be pristine. It occurred to me that I could make tracings of my favorite pages and color them! I got my Mom’s onionskin typing paper and traced over the outlines on the “E is for Eagle” page. While I was doing it I wondered if the coloring book artist had traced his line work, too.

By third grade I realized I wanted to be an artist. My teachers discouraged tracing, which made me want to do it even more. When I wasn’t copying pictures of ships and hot rods, I wanted to make money – literally. Here's a sample: 10 dollar bill from 3rd grade.jpg

I got a Batchelor of Fine Arts degree from UCLA in '72, where I attended on a track and field scholarship. That education was about becoming a fine artist, but I couldn't see a path to income when I graduated. I got a job drawing retail products for a drug store chain's newspaper ads, while I studied at Art Center College of Design at night. That school near Los Angeles specializes in turning out high level designers and artists for the commercial world. After a few semesters studying advertising design, I made the trip to NYC to land a job in advertising. Maybe I'll post an article about that experience, because it was very much like the show Mad Men.

@sunvaar saw my work on twitter and invited me to Steemit. I've been posting my art on Twitter for about two years and have quite a few followers, but the interaction there is limited compared to what I see here on Steemit. I like that I will have more room to get into the details here, and commenters will have the same luxury. There is so much to share and learn, while we earn!

"Esteemed" is a great way to describe all of you here! The origin of the word dates from the 15th century word ais-temos, "one who cuts copper," i.e. mints money. I'm looking forward to cutting some copper with you on Steemit.

Twitter: http://twitter.com/spherical_art
Instagram: http://instagram.com/sphericalart
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/spherical_art/

next post>>

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center